Savouring the First Steps Back After Injury

The light at the end of the tunnel

Kelly Benson
Run With Intention

--

Photo by Jane Palash on Unsplash

A month ago I dislocated my knee in a game of basketball. I was disappointed knowing I would miss the goal runs I’d planned.

I’ve been dedicated to my rehab, keen to return to running as soon as possible.

However, this week when my physio, Jonny, asked how I’d gone with the exercises, I hesitated — I’d had a week of high work commitments and a migraine, but still wanted to pretend I’d been good and completed my exercises.

I fessed up. I’d done nothing all week. I’d barely left the house, barely left my desk.

Jonny laughed, ‘That’s ok. Thanks for the honesty, that makes my job easier. Don’t worry, we’ll get you there.’

At the end of the session, Jonny gave me the thumbs up for a small test run on the treadmill.

I got nervous. What if my knee hurt? What if I couldn’t run? What if I embarrassed myself by getting all puffed being on the treadmill for 2min when I’d told Jonny I was a runner?

Jonny pushed the speed to a walk for a minute, then increased to a light jog. I was doing it! It was slow, but my legs were lifting, I was regretting not wearing a sports bra, I was running!

--

--

Kelly Benson
Run With Intention

25y as a software developer | 6 continents traveller | wannabe writer | Women & shares meetup host | 15+ years as a beginner runner