The Joy Of New Running Gear

Caitlin McColl
Run With Intention
Published in
4 min readMar 9, 2024

--

brand new running shoes (photo by author)

Have you seen those various memes online that say something along the lines of:

You know you’re a runner when…

And then goes on to outline various things.

Well, I think I must be a ‘real’ runner!

I just bought some new running shoes and I’m super excited by that. I think only other runners can relate to being excited by new running shoes! They’re Brook Glycerin 20. Apparently Glycerins are more cushiony than Brooks Ghosts which is the only running shoes I’ve ever worn, but various people in online running groups say they run their longer distances and races in Glycerins, so I thought I should get a pair!

pristine new shoes (photo by author)

I tried them out on a run yesterday. Actually two runs yesterday — both, somewhat unpleasantly, in light rain. The first run was a short 3.88km when I literally ran to the grocery store to pick up some chicken breasts for my pup (she has a bit of a upset tum so the chicken breasts are to boil up for her). And I ran home with a package of chicken breasts in a backpack.

I went out again later in the afternoon for a second run. I’d meant to only run 4.12km to make it an even 8km, but accidentally ended up…

--

--

Caitlin McColl
Run With Intention

Writer on mental health, grief & loss, mindfulness, running, life musings (+ fiction and poetry!). ❤️coffee & dogs. Vancouver 🇨🇦