Yes, Runners Do Have Bad Runs

Running is a journey of ups and downs

Jennifer Fung
Run With Intention

--

Photo by Todd Diemer on Unsplash

I think a common misconception about runners is that we enjoy every run we go on.

But the truth is, running is an up-and-down journey. There will be easy runs, the okay runs, and the tough runs. Usually, my runs are impacted by the ongoing stressors in my life, sleep, and motivation.

I know I’m having a tough run when I’m not present with my running. This means I’m probably going down a negative spiral of my current stressors. The negative spiral tends to elevate my heart rate and forces me to put more effort into my running.

Sometimes the only way through these tough runs is to tough it out and run it however you want to. And sometimes stopping entirely is the answer. No decision is wrong. Running is really a journey in letting go of your ego and listening to your body.

A tactic I sometimes use to get myself back on track is stopping during the middle of my run and taking a few minutes to get my breathing in check. That usually ensures the second half of my run is better than my first half.

It’s important to recognize that one bad run doesn’t derail your current training and there’s always another run. The fact that you got out onto the track to run is an amazing feat.

--

--

Jennifer Fung
Run With Intention

A reader and runner with a background in healthcare, passionate about health and wellness.