Week 10/11 Review

Feeling fit

Charles Reynolds-Talbot
Runner Unfiltered
Published in
3 min readMar 27, 2019

--

Week 10: 27.8miles
Week 11: 42.1miles
(454.5 total training miles ran so far)

Despite doctors advising us not to go on holiday, we went anyway. We’ve got a flurry of kidney-related activity ahead of us this year so this was our last chance for a holiday abroad for quite some time and I’m so pleased we went. The whole family had an amazing week away in Gran Canaria with zero kidney-related issues for my son Hamish. In fact, he flourished; speaking Spanish, swimming every day and interacting with children he’d never normally get a chance to. Taking children away on holiday is such an educational experience for them. Plus, spending that much time together as a family is so enriching for all of us.

On the running front the holiday week acted as a little mini-taper. I took my kit with me and did go out on some amazing arid adventures but overall my running was lighter than usual (and planned) which has had the added bonus of making me feel fit.

For several weeks now I’ve been feeling like I should be better and fitter for all the effort I’ve put into training but I haven’t felt as strong as I did pre-October last year. I’ve now realised why: fatigue.

The fact is, I am fitter. I’m probably the fittest I’ve ever been but I’m also extremely fatigued from the continued stress of training. Having a reduced week of running, coupled with the added relaxation of holiday has allowed some of that fatigue to subside which has left me feeling fit and having good form on recent runs.

At the end of Week 11 I ran a half-marathon time trial in the best effort I’ve ever done at 1:28:13 and (at the time of writing just into Week 12) I matched by best 5K effort during a tempo session at 19:17.

Five weeks to go

The next two weeks are the toughest planned to add as much fitness as possible before starting a proper three week taper so I’m on strong form ready for race day.

I’m running the London Marathon 2019 with Kidney Care UK and have already raised more than £3,500. This is a cause that’s very close to my heart as my four-year-old son has chronic kidney disease.

I’m worked-up to donate my kidney to my son later this year.

If you want to make a donation, thank you 🙏

--

--