Week 3 of 16

Running from SADness

Charles Reynolds-Talbot
Runner Unfiltered
Published in
5 min readJan 29, 2019

--

36.1 miles done this week (116 total).

I broke through a big, black and depressive wall of ice this week. I could tell something wasn’t right back in week two; I was very agitated and short with my words and actions, even at home. I really, wasn’t a great person to be around and wanted to give up on running so badly.

Looking back, I think, I usually struggle around this time of year; a couple of weeks after Christmas when the days are at their shortest and everything feels so heavy: thoughts, muscles, appetite. It’s amazing the physical effect, mental illness can have on a person. Luckily, I have the support of an incredible family and I was able to break through that barrier. Now, I’m running away from SADness as fast as I can with a smile on my face (sometimes).

I first felt a change on Wednesday, which was by far the coldest day yet in my training (I think it was -2) but for some reason it didn’t matter: everything felt beautiful. The sun was shining so brightly that day, coupled with the feel and sound of frozen grass underfoot giving me what I needed and what I hadn’t felt for a while: running felt good again. And, on that day, I felt good again too. 🙂

This week, on Thursday, I met a guy called Garth. He’s a professional running coach and is going to help me with a plan and support me in achieving my goal of running a sub-3:00:00 time at the London Marathon. I’m kind of a lone runner — I’m not part of a club and enjoy my time in solitude away from the distractions of our constantly-connected-everyday-lives — but I’m looking forward to running with Garth over the coming weeks.

I had to fail at one of the challenges I set myself this week. As well as the sub-3:00:00 goal, I also set myself the challenge of running every day for 100 days. There’s 112 days in 16 weeks so I figured I would run every day for 100 days and then have some rest days in the last 12 as I tapered my running for race day. Retrospectively, it was a silly idea to combine these challenges. Maybe, someone out there could do both but considering my personal marathon record is 3:32:24 from nearly two years ago, I need to focus a lot of effort on hard strength training to knock that down to sub-3:00:00. That focused effort, also includes rest days. My muscles need a chance to rest, recover and repair stronger than they were before so I can keep improving.

I ran for 18 days in a row (which is a personal streak record for me) before letting myself off the hook on the 100 day challenge: failing fast so I stood a chance of succeeding in my sub-3:00:00 challenge.

Running 100 days in a row can wait for another time.

Day 15 · 3M Steady Trail

Distance 3.2 mi · Pace 10:37 /mi · Elevation 380 ft · Time 34m 34s

Blue Monday. As you (and I) now know, I wasn’t feeling good in myself. I managed to get out the door which is good in itself but I had to take it easy. I thought, at the time, that the cold weather was what was holding me back. Sure, the cold does have an impact and saving harder days for milder weather is a good idea but I now know, there were other mental issues at play.

Day 16 · 3M Steady Trail + 10min Kettlebell Workout 🏋

Distance 3.1 mi · Pace 9:46 /mi · Elevation 247ft · Time 30m 54s

Pretty much the same feeling as the Monday. I’ve learnt that I need to forgive myself and give myself a break when struggling with dark days and that there is a glimmer of light waiting around the corner. I did start using kettlebells as part of mixing my core strength training up (with yoga) which did feel new and good.

Day 17 · 4M Frozen Trails 🥶 + 12min Kettlebell Workout

Distance 4.1 mi · Pace 10:38 /mi · Elevation 531ft · Time 44m 04s

Speed wasn’t important today, it was all about the feeling: today was that glimmer of light when running felt fun and good again.

Day 18 · 5x2 Hill Reps ⛰

Distance 6.4mi · Pace 9:07 /mi · Elevation 1,036ft · Time 58m 45s

Feeling good again I headed out to build some hill stamina. I ran up the first one as fast as I could, I could barely move when I got to the top before making my descent to do it all over again (but a bit slower). No rests in between. Really, pleased with this run.

Day 19 · Rest Day 😅

I’d ran for 18 days in a row, which is a personal streak record for me. Today, was the day I failed fast and let myself off the hook on the 100 day challenge.

Day 20 · Parkrun @ Woodhouse Moor, Leeds

Position 34/589 · Official Time 20:22

Parkrun felt great: very pleased with my pace.

Thanks to all the volunteers. 🙏

Day 21 · 16M Long & Steady

Distance 16.0mi · Pace 8:11 /mi · Elevation 787ft · Time 2h 11m

I borrowed my wife’s Garmin for the first time: a Forerunner 235. I like it (I usually use my Apple Watch). This was a good, steady, long run to finish the week off. It was still so cold and windy. I don’t think I’ll stop moaning about that for a while, yet, this run felt good and gave me confidence I still stand a chance with 13 weeks left to go.

Next week

Week 4 of training is my first one provided by Garth to help me build my strength and endurance to stand a chance of achieving sub-3:00:00. I’m looking forward to running with him on Friday.

Monday: 6M Steady
Tuesday: 5M Tempo (1M Warm, 3M @ 10K Pace, 1 Cool)
Wednesday: 5M Steady
Thursday: Rest
Friday: 3M Sprint Session
Saturday: Parkrun Race
Sunday: 16M Lond & Steady

👉 Follow me on my journey every day on instagram
👉 Dive into the data on Strava

I’m running the London Marathon 2019 with the Kidney Care UK charity and have already raised more than the £2,000 target in support to them. This is a cause that’s very personal to me as my four year old son has kidney disease.

I’m worked-up to donate my left kidney to him when his completely give up (in the next year or hopefully two). This is another reason why I’ve set myself such a hard goal for this marathon as it may be the last chance I get to run at full health.

If you want to make a donation, awesome. If not, that’s cool too. I’m sharing my training to make myself accountable and to inspire others to push themselves and reach their own goals.

--

--