5-Week Half Marathon Training — Week 1

Follow the journey from 10k runner to marathoner.

Henri Heinonen
Runner's Life
3 min readNov 4, 2019

--

I decided to start training for a half marathon with a 5-week training program. I was surfing the internet and learning about running when the 16-week marathon training schedule appeared on one website. I first thought I would train for the marathon but while I was training I realized that it wasn’t the best idea in current life situation. So I decided to first train only for the half marathon with 5 weeks program.

For background information, I have been going for (on average) 7 kilometer runs from a young age frequently. However, I have never run even near the half marathon distance before.

same old Running shoes fits to the shape of feet, marathon running, long distance,
As can be seen from my running shoes, I’m not new in running. I always run with the same shoes as long as they hold since they fit nicely after a long time of running. New shoes take time to fit the shape of your feet.

I have a busy schedule as an entrepreneur. I still train a lot and it’s easier to do so when it’s scheduled. A 5-week half marathon schedule offers a challenge to train and won’t let me skip training. I also go to the gym and work out with my bodyweight at the same time.

Medium writing is one of the hobbies which releases my stress levels and clears out my thoughts during intense entrepreneurial life style. Hardcore training and writing about it in Medium seems like a perfect combination. I will do a 5-week writing series to follow my progress and running schedule. The idea is to inspire and potentially give someone a half marathon program to follow.

Let’s go — Week 1

marathon running man long distance running
Start by taking the first step.

I already completed week 1 and here are the lengths of my runs:

Monday: 5 miles = 8 kilometers

Tuesday: 7 miles = 11,2 kilometers

Wednesday: 6 miles = 9,8 kilometers

Thursday: Hill run 10 x 30 sec

Saturday: 7 miles = 11,2 kilometers

Sunday: 4 miles = 6,4 kilometers

Total distance: 29 miles = 46,6 kilometres

The first week was easy to complete. Starting from the comfort zone and moving towards the goal. I could already feel the need in my body for stretching and muscle maintenance. Long hours spent sitting on the computer have its effects on the body. Hip flexors take a heavy hit from both running and sitting and walking is needed for balance. Major pain was felt during the first week in the left side hip flexor and knee. I do muscle rolling and stretching to restore the muscles from the training.

For this month, the analysis was shorter but I will have more coming in the upcoming weeks.

To follow my progress hit follow. I’ll be sharing weekly updates, analysis, and running distances every Sunday.

Week 2, Week 3, Week 4 and Week 5 are live!

--

--

Henri Heinonen
Runner's Life

Entrepreneur | 1 x Founder | Passionate tech guy from countryside. Internet is value. I like to challenge my mental and physical muscles in various activities.