3 Things Running Taught Me After Starting 3 Years Ago

I went from running one mile to completing two half marathons in two years

Madalyn Rose
Runner's Life

--

Photo by Walter Lee Olivares de la Cruz on Unsplash

I used to hate running. Running was something I did after eating too much ice cream the night before or as a way to “get back to feeling healthy” after a vacation. Even though I was never a committed runner, I wanted to be. I loved that it was a solo sport, I could do it outdoors, I didn’t need a gym membership, and it could help me clear my mind if I stuck to it.

It’s safe to say I forced myself to be a runner when I first started over three years ago. I was influenced by my cousin who I viewed as very healthy; she was just getting into running at the time and was showing me all the running features her new Garmin watch had that helped her stay disciplined. I was sold. The next day, I bought the same watch and dusted off my old running shoes. I was at a point in my life where I needed a physical challenge.

Here are my biggest takeaways from the three years that I have been running consistently:

1. It was my “thing” that couldn’t be taken away

With my time running, I’ve built a community and now enjoy running with others, but when I first started, I knew no other runners. I did not grow up in a…

--

--

Madalyn Rose
Runner's Life

I am a heartfelt storyteller passionate about health, science, sustainability, the natural world, and living a more intentional life.