4 Reasons Why I LOVE Running on the Treadmill

There, I said it. Fight me.

Carrie Killian
Runner's Life
4 min readDec 8, 2020

--

Photo by Blue Planet Studio | Adobe Stock

Whisper the word “treadmill” in any running group, and you will have a strong reaction. Often referred to among runners as the “dreadmill,” running on the treadmill can come across as incredibly boring or not real running.

I secretly love the treadmill. Don’t get me wrong, running outside on a gorgeous day while breathing in the fresh air and taking in various panoramas is fantastic. But I live in the Midwest, where we see temperatures drop into the negatives with painfully intense wind chills and gasp-inducing icy trails. On days like this, I would rather be re-watching Game of Thrones’ last episode (Bran. Really.) than running outside. Here are my proclamations as to why I will keep hitting the treadmill, with love.

1. Speedwork, baby!

Speedwork or intervals are how I get faster. No matter how many times I go onto the track, I can’t replicate the same speed at the same level of intensity as I do on a treadmill. A treadmill will make me quicker even when my legs haven’t received the message that they, too, will be going quicker.

On a treadmill, I can time my intervals perfectly. That works well for my brain. If I want to sprint at 10.0 mph for one minute, I can do it instantly, and it will be for precisely one minute. Outside, it takes a few seconds to get up to that speed, resulting in less time I am actually running at that pace. Or I will die out before I hit the minute mark — by going out too fast and not being consistent during the entire minute.

When I am doing speedwork, all I want to focus on is my form, breathing, and telling myself, you got this. If I am outside and I want to add time to that mixture, (which I always do), I have to look down at my watch and decipher the numbers. That takes away from my focus and overall goal: getting faster. A treadmill does the time-work for me.

2. You can stop on a treadmill, in case…you know…

Have you ever watched someone at the gym leave a treadmill, only to return to it 5–10 minutes later? It’s because they HAD to go to the bathroom.

It happens to all of us. You think your stomach is on point; the banana you had in the morning has digested, ready to use its incredible energy to fuel your run. But then the steak you poorly chose to have for dinner takes over your intestines. It’s ready to exit. RIGHT NOW.

The cold sweats start. The butt clench kicks in. And you are praying to every God you know, “please, don’t let me crap my pants.” If you are running outside, you have two choices: defecate outside like an animal or hope you can make it home.

On a treadmill, you can press stop, delicately fast walk to the nearest bathroom and use the toilet like a proper member of society.

Dignity:1 Crapping pants in the middle of a cornfield: 0.

3. You never have to worry about getting lost.

Finding yourself lost on a run can be terrifying. On the few instances when I have become lost on a run, panic has set in, ruining the run.

The first time I found myself really lost, I was in the Arizona desert. Fresh out of my water, and because God apparently wanted a laugh that day, I came upon an apiary. Also known as a bee yard. Commercial beehives were on the right of me while flowering orange trees were on my left. I had honey bees bouncing off my face as they were going back and forth, inspecting me, probably wondering, “Who is this idiot runner who is clearly lost?”

When I finally found an actual paved road (sans bee stings, hooray!), I called my best friend to pick me up. We had a good chuckle, but if I didn’t have my phone with me, I could have been in trouble. Running out of water in the Arizona heat is not a fun situation to find yourself in. It can lead to severe consequences.

I have never been lost on a treadmill.

4. You can watch TV guilt-free!

Sometimes I wish I could be one of those people who can pompously say, I don’t have time for TV. But I am not. I will never be one of those people.

I love TV. Like most people, I have my favorite shows, but I tend to feel like a fat sloth after about the third hour on the couch when Netflix rudely asks me if I am still watching. Yes, you condescending ass, I am always watching.

However, if I am on the treadmill, I am not actually watching TV. I am running! Win, win! In your face, overachievers.

--

--

Carrie Killian
Runner's Life

Lover of donuts, a Simpsons aficionado, an avid runner, & self-realized relationship dweller. Personal blog: walkingdumpsterfire.com