5 Ways Overthinking Is Killing Your Running Progress

We’re experts at sabotaging our success

David Liira, Kin.
Runner's Life

--

Image from Maksim Goncharenok on Pexels

While studying for my degree in Kinesiology, I was fortunate enough to attend a university connected to a high-performance facility. This is where many Olympians and nationally-ranked athletes train and get tested. While walking to class or working out in the gym, there were countless times of brushing shoulders with greatness.

Throughout my years in school, I was able to learn from both elite coaches and athletes which was as fascinating as it was humbling. As running has always been a passion of mine, I would always seek out opportunities to connect with others in the sport and glean as much knowledge as possible. Among the various lectures and impromptu interviews, I began to realize a common trend among the best runners and coaches.

Their knowledge is vast, but their approach is simple.

The greats know exactly what they’re doing and why they’re doing it. They train hard and work smart, but don’t overthink the little stuff. They don’t waste even one extra ounce of effort in the pursuit of achieving their goals.

Seeing this philosophy over and over again has slowly made me realize just how much novice and intermediate runners can overthink this sport. Even though our margins for error…

--

--

David Liira, Kin.
Runner's Life

Kinesiologist. Writing on health and the human condition. Clap and I clap back. https://www.davidliirakin.com