8 Tips from Running 1+ Miles for 300 Consecutive Days

Run mindfully and at a slower pace for increased joy.

Todd Dosenberry
Runner's Life

--

As of May 16, 2020, I’ve run at least one mile for 300 consecutive days.

Am I crazy?

In January and February 2019 the mere thought of running never appeared. As soon as I finished listening to Can’t Hurt Me by David Goggins I transformed into a runner. I started to run almost daily in May. My current running streak started on July 22nd.

I didn’t plan to do this. I had no goals. It happened on its own.

I’m a numbers nerd so what follows are a few stats from the streak. I ran:

  • 646 miles during all 300 days
  • 39 miles in January 2020 (worst month)
  • 130 miles in April 2020 (best month)
  • 3+ miles for 17 consecutive days in April 2020
  • 15.22 miles on April 1, 2020 (longest run)

I’ve run at least 2 miles for 40 consecutive days.

What follows are some tips I’ve gleaned during my running streak. They may or may not apply to you.

Run in all temperatures to find your sweet spot. For me, running in the heat is easier than running in the cold. I’ve run numerous times when the wind

--

--

Todd Dosenberry
Runner's Life

Uncle. Godfather. Runner. Writer. Meditating daily since July 2017. All thoughts appear from the ether. MindfulToad.com