Are You a Competitive or a Creative Runner?

The more runners I get to know, the more I’m convinced that there are two main types

Sam Bracke
Runner's Life

--

Photo by Braden Collum on Unsplash

A runner is a runner. Yes, I agree. We all have this weird passion for putting one foot in front of the other. And yet, with some runners, I immediately feel a deeper connection. With others, I never even feel a connection.

“Yeah Sam, that’s normal,” you’re probably thinking. “We always have a better connection with one person than with another. That’s inherent to life.”

Yes, in some way, I agree. But I think there’s also another reason for this — a reason that lies in the purpose of your running. With some runners, I just don’t connect because we have a different perspective on what running is all about. We have other goals and just see running in a different way.

Meet Rob

Meet Rob, for example. Rob runs one big marathon every year. He has a refined training plan and follows it to perfection. If the coach says 10 kilometers, Rob runs 10 kilometers. Not 11, not 9.

One month before the race, Rob buys the newest, state-of-the-art racing shoes. On the day of the race, he’s stressed. This is the day. He did all the hard interval sessions for this moment.

--

--

Sam Bracke
Runner's Life

Loves adventure, running, traveling, and writing. Always ready to try new things. Tries to live a more simple, meaningful life.