Barefoot Running: 8 Months Later

I’m not crazy, I promise

Noah Douglas
Runner's Life

--

Photo by SwapnIl Dwivedi on Unsplash

You may be wondering why in the world anyone would want to run barefoot, and I’m not going to lie, I wouldn’t blame you. With new innovations from major brands like Nike, you’d assume I was going backward in technology. Well, after 8 months of adapting to this lifestyle, here are the benefits I’ve found, some of the hardships, and overall why I’m not going back.

The inspiration

Like many of you, I started my journey off by reading the infamous book, Born to Run by Christopher McDougall. Last year I digested that book, got obsessed by the idea that I could be the next barefoot Ted, then got to YouTube to continue the brainwashing by some hipsters running in the hills. Trust me when you’re in agony, cradling your broken feet, you will want to be watching some fellow barefoot runners on YouTube (makes you feel a little bit more normal).

The next step was to get to the internet and get my first pair of shoes (your boy Noah wasn’t that brave to go in the deep end running like a hobbit on the streets of Manchester). So, I bought a pair of minimalist shoes — the Primus Lites by VivoBarefoot (I still have them today and use them as my daily casual shoe, they look very snazzy and a good start to dip your toe in the lifestyle).

--

--

Noah Douglas
Runner's Life

Perpetually curious. Journeyman of faith† Runner, writer, marketer // other work: noahdouglas.net