How I Became an Unconventional Runner

Andrew Krupp
Runner's Life
Published in
6 min readJan 25, 2024

Looking back on my evolution in distance running, I’m proud to have embraced a different path — one that challenges the common belief that high mileage is the only way to succeed. Like most, my journey started in middle school, where I fell in love with this sport. I progressed through high school cross country and track, and eventually into the D3 running scene. It was during this time that a history of stress fractures led me to adjust my training regimen.

From Injured to Unconventional

During my junior year of high school, I was leading the two-mile at the conference championship. Around halfway, I felt a sharp pain in my lower leg — my first stress fracture. Despite somehow finishing third, this injury marked a shift, but it wouldn’t be my last. College brought more structure and intensity but after another stress fracture my freshman year, my coach and I worked to devise a new approach to my training.

Defying the Norms

As we began to strategize a different training approach, we knew it would involve less running, and more cross-training. However, this training plan would end up evolving over the course of my college career.

My form was a large contributor to my injuries. Being a heel striker for so long put additional stress on my body when introduced to college training. Since form is very difficult to change, I still dealt with a few injuries after my freshman year. There were even times I was cross-training 6 days a week and lining up to race on Saturdays. Stepping on the line to race knowing I hadn’t run since the following race was difficult at first. But little did I know this would only grow my confidence in the effectiveness of cross-training.

The Plan

I would eventually work up to a plan that entailed running 3 days a week for workouts and long runs. Everything else was done on the bike, elliptical, or in the pool.

This new training philosophy went something like this:

Count time, not mileage.

Since I was now doing a mix of running and cross-training, time seemed to be the only metric to track on a weekly basis. I dove over to Strava and did some research on some of the top guys in the conference. I found the average time the top guys spent running high mileage every single week. That was my number.

2x Cross training

On the days I was cross-training, I would spend 2x the time my teammates would spend running. So if everyone else was prescribed a 45-minute recovery run, I would spend an hour and a half cross-training. Sometimes I would do these as doubles. I recall some intense winter training that involved many days doubling in the pool. Taking two trips to the rec in a day to aqua jog became normal.

The Outcomes

By the time my senior year rolls around, I’ve now been on this plan for a couple years, always keeping my mileage low and cross-training high. This was the year things started to click for me on the track.

In my final collegiate 5k, I broke the 15-minute barrier for the first time, something I had always dreamed of. The feeling was surreal, but after seeing my training culminate in this success, I wanted more. This momentum ultimately pushed me to try half marathons and marathons post collegiately, using the same training structure.

Beyond the improvement in fitness, there were a few unexpected advantages I gained by cross-training.

Mental Fortitude

Extended sessions of cross-training demand mental fortitude, cultivating a mindset that thrives in the face of adversity. Cross-training for 2+ hours is very understimulating and time moves very slowly. These long sessions challenged me to stay focused for sustained periods. I believe cross-training sharpened my mental strength and made racing longer events like the 10k a bit easier.

Self Confidence

Once my training began to pay off, the confidence in what I was doing began to set in. If my competitors were to ever stalk my Strava, they would probably pick themselves over me. I mean, running 25 miles a week doesn’t exactly say, “I’m going to dust you in a 10k.” But I think that is what gave me confidence. The fact that people had lower expectations of me because of my training. But all that mattered was that I had high expectations of myself BECAUSE of my training.

The Trend of Unconventional Athletes

When I was in college and embarking on this unconventional journey in distance running, there were never any figures to look up to or take inspiration from. However, I’ve recently noticed a trend of runners taking an unconventional path to training. Parker Valby, Ryan Hall, and Conseslus Kipruto to name a few.

Parker Valby

After winning the D1 Cross Country National Championship in 2023, Parker Valby’s training came into the spotlight. In interviews she explained how throughout the fall, she was only running 2–3 days a week with a mileage cap of 30. In between her run sessions, she focused on intense sessions on the arc trainer or in the pool. This is the epitome of unconventional running and extremely uncommon for an athlete of her caliber, but for her, it worked.

Ryan Hall

The current American record holder in the half marathon has taken an interesting approach to his unconventional running. He actually calls himself a “hybrid athlete”. The man who is still known as one of America’s greatest distance runners actually looks more like a bodybuilder these days. Taking a heavy approach to strength training in addition to running makes him both a hybrid athlete and an unconventional runner.

Charles Krupa/AP/Shutterstock; Courtesy Image

Conseslus Kipruto

The Kenyan Olympic and World Champion in the Steeplechase is known for a more reactive unconventional training. After becoming a world champion in 2019, he went public about the stress fracture he dealt with over the course of the summer. He went as far as building a pool in his backyard in Kenya so that he could stay fit by aqua jogging. It’s not known if he still uses this in his training, but I’d say it definitely served its purpose. The Kenyans are known for their high mileage training, so it’s refreshing to see that even some of the best athletes in the world aren’t afraid of trying something different to stay fit when it matters the most.

What’s the point?

The point of sharing my experience and the stories of others is to inspire runners who struggle with traditional cookie-cutter training. College programs across the country continue to force high mileage onto runners, thinking it’s the only way. It’s my hope that these stories inspire you to look for a creative approach to distance running that keeps you healthy both physically and mentally, for long-term success and love for the sport.

I strongly urge coaches to lean into a more individualized approach for their athletes. If runners are struggling with high mileage, please recognize that there are alternatives to get fit and stay fit without 70+ miles a week. And if an athlete comes to you with a creative approach to training, work with them to find a sweet spot. I am forever grateful that I had a coach who listened to me and helped me forge my own path to becoming a successful unconditional runner.

If you have also gone down an unconventional path in your running journey, join my Strava club and share your story!

Join The Club!

--

--

Andrew Krupp
Runner's Life

Just a distance runner who deviates from traditional high mileage training. Advocate for doing what works for you.