Benefits of Running as a Couple

It turns out my partner is a runner, and I love it

Arthur Herbout
Runner's Life
3 min readFeb 12, 2023

--

When my partner and I started dating three years ago, we were both injured, and pretty badly. I was just recovering from my second ACL surgery and she still had some lingering issues from fracturing her kneecap. Now we both run consistently. What a journey this has been! Since it is almost Valentine’s day, I wanted to discuss why, in my opinion, running as a couple is underrated.

Having a shared passion

Sharing a hobby is an important element of any relationship. For mine, the shared hobbies were knee injuries and running. We can discuss our dream races years from now, the next workout that we have, or the new racing shoe that just came out. We also create lots of great memories along the way! I remember seeing her cheering me on on the sidelines during the New York City Marathon and it meant a lot.

Picture ofIan Schneider on Unsplash

Running the same races is also great: we prepare, we plan for it, and we debrief together, whether it went well or not. We see each other’s progress over time and it is really nice to be able to talk it out.

Running is not like any other hobby

Running has its own specificities: it is a time-intensive activity.

Running is viewed as an individual sport — you are in competition with yourself. However, I would argue that it isn’t completely individual, considering the lifestyle impact on those close to you.

I became even more of a morning person when I picked up running somewhat seriously. My daily life has adapted, and so has my partner’s. It helps that she also prefers to go for runs in the morning, but we both have to work around the other’s running schedule.

On top of that, training periods for long races are more intense than others and take more time. Communicating well enough and in advance ensures that my partner will be on board and adapt accordingly, and vice versa. It really helps in terms of logistics!

Picture of 2H Media on Unsplash

Learning how to be comfortable without talking

What is more terrifying to a young couple than prolonged, potentially awkward silence? When I run with my partner, I often find myself in that situation. Indeed, one of us might be digging deep or simply trying to focus on running technique. I believe that running with your partner is a great way to discover how your relationship works in standard mode and how at ease you are with each other.

Picture on Roger Keller on Unsplash

Since I run on a weekly basis with my partner, that aspect of our relationship has developed significantly: we are both comfortable being around each other without always having something to say. I believe this is a shortcut to intimacy.

I am certain I will discover in the future new reasons why running with my partner is great. So far I am enjoying every bit of it, and I do not see any reason why it would change!

--

--

Arthur Herbout
Runner's Life

Former constantly-injured kid turned runner. Talks about running, injury prevention and practicing sport as a hobby.