Chasing Dreams and Honoring Legacy: A 16-Year Journey to Qualify for the U.S. Olympic Marathon Trials

A story of dedication, sacrifice, and the pursuit of excellence: 16 years chasing the U.S. Olympic Marathon Trials

Scott Browning
Runner's Life
5 min read22 hours ago

--

I’m hungry. Not the kind that says I’m hungry for Olympic Gold; I mean, I’m hungry. My student loan payout has been postponed again, and there’s not enough money for rent and groceries. I’m staring at bare cupboards and an empty fridge in my dark basement apartment on a cold fall morning in Salt Lake City. I know it means another trip to the financial aid office, but first, a hard morning run waits.

The path to the Olympic Trials doesn’t need help being hard; it already takes grit, toughness, consistency, resilience, hard work, and a pretty fair amount of luck. Add financial stress, and well, it’s just one more obstacle to overcome.

A Father’s Inspiration

The quest for the Olympics started as an ideal presented by my father when I was very young. In 1972, he watched Mark Spitz win seven gold medals, and then Frank Shorter won in 1976 games. He instilled a belief that anything is possible with dedication and hard work. It worked for him; he rose from a poor upbringing outside Toledo, Ohio, to become an all-star college football and track athlete. His stepfather believed in him and worked with him daily to ensure he had a path out of poverty.

Dad was a decorated FBI agent whose career transcended many of history’s most significant events. He worked the JFK assassination, marched with MLK, and arrested Ted Bundy, among a slew of other history-making events. He lost his life in the line of duty when I was 15 years old, taking with him my childhood and my hero.

The idea of the Olympics stayed with me after his death, but Olympic glory was never the motivating factor. It was about chasing a ghost. I was searching for a way to remember, connect, and make my father proud. Now, here I was in 1990, 21 years old and driven to honor my fallen hero’s legacy.

Opportunities and Obstacles

The road to qualifying is filled with obstacles and opportunities. Being driven isn’t enough; everything has to be right at the right time, and under the best circumstances, that’s hard to do. As I chased the elusive standard, I learned a few things along the way: things that can only be learned by having the courage to try — to dream big.

It’s one thing to dream of going to the Olympics; it’s another to set your intention and walk the path with an unwavering commitment that it’s even possible. I was going to say unwavering belief, but that is not fair. We all encounter self-doubt at some point. We look at the mountain ahead and think, wow, that’s impossible. In those darker moments, when you’re filled with self-doubt, you come face-to-face with the hardest choices. Do I continue, or do I quit? You ask yourself, is the price I’m paying worth it? To get here, you sacrifice. There are no late-night parties, carefree weekends, or social engagements. You’re often tired and sore, and you’re difficult to be around when things aren’t going well.

Paving the Road

To reach this level, it’s not just you who pays the price. Family, friends, and coaches invest significant time and energy. The toll on loved ones is immeasurable. They carry a hefty load, especially when the path seems uncertain. They cheer when you win, cry when you lose, and pick up the pieces when your dreams shatter. Sure, I was the one pounding the pavement and putting mile after mile, but I was far from alone.

Along the way, I learned the value of persistence and consistency. Through the miles, often over 120 per week, I learned what hard was and that I could do hard things. I learned that quitting was harder than finishing last and that sometimes you can do everything right and still lose.

There was always time to run, sometimes before the sun rose and others long after the sunset. Some days were effortless, others not so. There were times when desire waned, but discipline prevailed. My mantra: One more step, one more mile, just one more day…

Mornings often started with 4:30 am alarms, dark skies, and lonely streets. In those solitary moments, the only sound was the rhythm of my feet hitting the ground. Listening to the steady beat, I’d dream about what might be. As the sun rose over the snow-capped Utah mountains, the pinks, reds, and yellows would warm my soul and light my way home. I’d repeat all over again in the evening, the golden rays of the setting sun welcoming me back to say goodnight. That was the pattern, day in and day out, month after month, year after year.

Some days, the miles would fly, and others, not so much. On good days and bad, I promised to show up. On the darkest days, when it seemed everything was going wrong, I dug deeper into my Why. I’d remember how this journey started; it always gave me the strength to take another step.

My journey was a road paved through thousands of miles; each was a brick, bringing me one step closer. There were twists and turns, many ups, and no shortage of downs. On the road, I met lifelong friends, many of whom shared the same dream. We celebrated the wins and cried over the losses. Somedays, we’d chat endlessly and, at other times, speak volumes in silence.

The Price

After sixteen years, I reached the end of the road. The window had closed, and I realized that it wouldn’t be enough despite my strongest desire. Through the nearly two-decade quest, I suffered devastating injuries, broken bones, torn tendons, and a host of other health effects. The mental and emotional costs were even higher and left me with an unfilled hole that I failed to honor the legacy of my hero.

Despite falling short of my goal, I never regretted the heavy price. As the sun set on my dreams, I reflected in gratitude at the road I paved, the lifelong friends, and my beautiful wife and stepdaughter I met along the way.

A New Journey

Although the journey to the Olympics is over, the road continues. The miles in front of me look different than those behind me. However, they are still filled with beautiful sunsets, the laughter of great friends, cheering crowds, and an unbridled desire to keep exploring. Honoring my father’s legacy continues as I work to be an example for my family and give back to the sport that has given so much to me. I devote my time to creating pathways for all those who aspire to run and achieve what they often thought was impossible. For some, it’s running nonstop for a mile; for others, the Olympics.

Originally published at https://scottbrowning.substack.com.

--

--

Scott Browning
Runner's Life

I’m a coach and exercise physiologist who chased the US Olympic Marathon Trials and now inspired runners to overcome their obstacles and achieve their goals.