Creaky, Cranky Tips for Running in Later Life

Advice from a casual but committed runner

David Asch
Runner's Life

--

Photo by Author

I disagree with most hard-won, wise advice I read from hardcore runners about improvement, technique, stretching, and injury prevention. Not that these runners are giving bad advice.

Although I run a lot, about 10K every day, I’m not a serious runner. Therefore, the tips and tricks of superb athletes don’t necessarily apply to me.

These are the serious runner things I don’t do:

  1. I’ve never run a race and have no intention of entering one.
  2. I don’t own a running watch nor do I time my runs.
  3. I don’t know what a split is, maybe because I don’t own a running watch.
  4. I’m disinterested in improving as a runner.
  5. I don’t believe “runner’s high” is anything other than a post-run doobie.

These are the things I do:

1. Accept Mediocrity

Our culture celebrates those seeking continuous self-improvement and scorns those who do not. I’m not interested in shaving time off my run by doing high-intensity interval training (HIIT) — running and then walking. Yeah, I know, it’s blasphemy.

--

--

David Asch
Runner's Life

Founder of the Management Consulting Company https://10xPrinciples.com. Available for consulting, podcasts, and speaking engagements.