Ditch the Technology to Improve Your Running

Running without technology can bring balance and fun back into your training.

Sam Randolph
Runner's Life
3 min readDec 7, 2020

--

Photo by Free To Use Sounds on Unsplash

I started running as a college freshman in 2004. My roommate was a cross-country runner, and she promised me if I trained for a half-marathon, I could eat whatever I wanted. At the time, I was on the ice cream with every meal diet, so the promise was very appealing.

I spent the little money I had on a first-generation iPod and a nice pair of running shoes. Back then, running watches were bulky and expensive, and I didn’t care enough about running to invest in a watch.

I planned my runs based on how much time I had or how I felt that day. Running was painful and difficult at first, but as my endurance improved, I fell in love with the quiet freedom I experienced.

I found that jogging around campus helped me burn off the stress of studying and think through whatever was on my mind. Going for a run made me feel strong and helped me prepare for the rest of my day.

Data is useful, but it can turn into an obsession.

I began adopting the new technology as it became cheaper, and my interest in running grew. I gradually became obsessive about analyzing my performance. I judged the quality of runs based on my ability to hold paces and heart rate zones. Strava let me see how my efforts compared to other runners in my area. It was both motivating and discouraging.

I believed that tracking every single workout was the key to a successful training program. I forgot what it was like to head out for a run and get lost in the experience. I gave the technology full control over deciding whether a run was good or bad.

Physiologist Dr. Nick Tiller of Sheffield Hallam University’s Academy of Sport and Physical Activity said,

“The disadvantage of this number-tracking is that an obsessive focus on data can create a barrier between you and the experience of the session; a focus on irrelevant metrics can side-track you from more important issues, not to mention diminish the notion of training for fun.”

Focusing constantly on metrics, running felt more like a high-pressure job than a fun hobby.

You can hit your training goals without measuring every run.

Most training plans include “easy runs” intended for low-intensity recovery. Easy runs are just as important as the more dialed-in efforts.

Frank Campo, writing for TrainingPeaks, emphasized the value of easy days. He wrote,

“They give your body and mind a break. You can also take the time during your easy run days to worry less about paces and time and simply enjoy your run. That’s why we all do this, right?”

I would argue that everyone who runs regularly likes running. We download apps and follow grueling training programs because we prefer running to other types of exercise.

Low-pressure running provides the physical and mental balance necessary to stick with a challenging training plan.

Reclaim the experience of running by ditching the tech occasionally.

Photo by Tim Foster on Unsplash

I am not saying you should throw away your smartwatch, quit Strava, and only run intuitively while listening to the sounds of nature. Technology has made it possible for everyone to train like an athlete. Actionable data can help you hit training goals that will lead to race day goals.

Running is both natural and remarkable. Humans are built for endurance. While running, our bodies automatically regulate muscle fiber recruitment, body temperature, and respiratory rate without any conscious thought input from fancy technology.

Our determination allows us to power up steep hills and run one more mile when our legs are exhausted and heavy. The technology of our bodies is far more advanced than anything we are wearing.

Like most things in life, balance is the key to success. Appreciating the experience of running will help you stay in love with it for a lifetime.

--

--

Sam Randolph
Runner's Life

Trainer. Painfully empathetic introvert. Storyteller.