Photo by Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash

Does Your Running Stride Seem Shorter?

It could be you are getting older!

Stephen Hands
Published in
5 min readJun 6, 2024

--

Since returning to running from injury, I have noticed my stride is shorter. I watch younger runners pass me on training runs with strides that almost have their heels whacking against their backside.

While my stride was never that expansive, how short it has become has started to plague me. Is this how I will run from now on? Is this purely injury-induced? Surely it can’t be shortened anymore, otherwise, I will be running in reverse.

I always appreciated that stride length and cadence are key for running performance. Not only for faster running but to boost overall running efficiency and to reduce the risk of injury. Therefore, should I try to ‘correct’ my stride?

While researching a recent article on how pace slows for older runners, I was made more aware of how your running stride reduces in length with age. The pieces started to fall into place.

The good news, as with many age-related running tales, is that you can reduce some of the impact of age on your running stride.

Why does your running stride shorten as you get older?

It can feel very frustrating when you feel your legs are turning over at the same speed, yet you are…

--

--

Stephen Hands
Runner's Life

A freelance writer based in beautiful Cornwall in the UK. A runner looking to share their thoughts and experiences from three decades of running.