Four Reasons Why You Should Run in Cold Weather

Life lessons of a running lifestyle

Kevin Jahleel Ishimwe
Runner's Life

--

Ever since I adopted my active lifestyle, I have typically felt the most comfortable running in cold weather. Perhaps, even when there was a refreshing breeze in the air, I felt as if it was an additional boost of energy to carry me through my run.

I recall multiple times during my high school track meets, my face would light up whenever the meteorologist forecasted a windy or cold day. In a way, the cold weather became my secret weapon, sort of like an edge over my competition.

I have found that most of my fulfilling runs have typically occurred during winter days. I never bothered trying to understand why that was the case. I just kept going with the flow. As long as I kept feeling alive, I was going to carry that mentality forward.

Over the past couple of years, I have noticed that I am generally in good shape come spring season. I try to be in the best shape possible before the weather gets warmer, which comes in handy when I start hiking during the summer.

Tom Holland, an exercise physiologist and author of The Marathon Method, suggests that “the colder the weather, the less stress heat on the body, which makes it significantly easier to run.

--

--

Kevin Jahleel Ishimwe
Runner's Life

Faith & Life Ambassador, Quadrilingual, Visionary, Writer, Adventurer