Hard Work Becomes a Life’s Work: How Staying Active Keeps Katie Adams Mentally Strong

Jake Griggs
Runner's Life
Published in
7 min readJul 11, 2023
Image source: Katie Adams

The Why

“The way I show up in the world is better when I’m physically active.” — Katie Adams

Women are outrunning men at ultra distances. Why? Well, a growing body of research is seeking to answer that question. And the results are in.

The more arduous a physical task, the better female athletes will perform. In 2017, Outside Magazine published an article titled “The Longer the Race, the Stronger We Get.” The author references a study conducted by Sandra K. Hunter, Ph.D.

In her report, Professor Hunter focuses on how men and women respond to fatigability. Hunter defines fatigability as an exercise-induced reduction in performance and concludes that women are more resistant to muscle fatigue than men.

Hunter believes this is due to two significant factors. First, women have more fatigue-resistant fibers. This makes them particularly well-suited for activities requiring physical exertion over long periods. Second, men have larger muscles, meaning they need more oxygen. More oxygen means their hearts must work harder.

Biological differences aside, there’s a mental component that’s worth considering. Take Katie Adams, for instance. Growing up, Katie was a multi-sport athlete. She loved all things athletics. But she thrived at track and cross-country.

“The longer the distance, the better I did,” asserts Katie. “I’m more mentally tough and could push through the pain.” Long distance may have held her heart, but talent drove her toward basketball.

Katie would go on to play at Rutgers University for the Hall of Fame coach C. Vivian Stringer. Coach Stringer was the first coach, male or female, to take three different teams to the NCAA Final Four. During her time with Coach Stringer, Katie experienced a Sweet 16, two Elite 8’s, and a National Championship.

The stage was set for Katie to have a long, successful basketball career, but things went differently than planned. Post-college, Katie played semi-pro ball. And she was preparing to compete overseas, but an injury forced an early retirement.

In the blink of an eye, her basketball career was over. And with it, her identity as a basketball player. But being untethered from this identity helped Katie realize how vital health and fitness were to her.

“The way I show up in the world is better when I’m physically active,” says Katie. “It definitely helps with my mental health, and I struggle with that when I’m not taking care of myself.”

That which we experience daily is also the easiest to take for granted. Your health and fitness are prime examples. Playing at an elite level meant Katie had to stay fit. With the external motivator gone, Katie gained a new appreciation for her mental and physical well-being.

Instead of having to go for a run or the gym, Katie got to. So, she dove head-first into strength-based disciplines, such as CrossFit. But Katie remained unfulfilled. She needed something to satiate her passion for competition and offer enough stimulus to meet her long-distance needs.

So, she signed up for her first triathlon in 2017. “I had absolutely no clue what I was doing,” remembers Katie. “I used a hybrid bike and did zero swim training. It was clear I had a lot to learn, so when I got home, I Googled, ‘How do I get better at triathlons?’”

Katie immediately got to work, completing an Olympic tri a year later. As her tolerance for miles increased, Katie linked up with a group of athletes training for the Chisago Lakes Half Ironman.

Consisting of a 1.2-mile swim, a 56-mile bike, and a 13.1-mile run, a Half Ironman is a formidable feat. According to a RunTri analysis of over 67,000 Half Ironman finishers, the average Half Ironman finish time is roughly six hours. Katie finished in 5 hours, 5 minutes, earning first in her age group and fourth overall.

Surviving something like a Half Ironman is one thing. But attacking it? Now, that requires an entirely different mindset. As Katie stepped off the bike, she couldn’t feel the ground beneath her. Her legs deadened from riding for almost three hours.

“I want to play with my kids. I want to be active, strong, and capable. I want to take them on runs and show them what fitness can do for them.”

But without skipping a beat, Katie’s mind took over. “I haven’t worked out all day,” she thought. “My workout is this half marathon. All I have is an hour and a half workout today.”

Physical pursuits have taught Katie Adams quite a bit about herself. And as she continues to deepen her understanding of who she is, she’ll soon be responsible for passing on what she’s learned to her children.

And this is exactly why Katie does what she does. As she says, “I want to play with my kids. I want to be active, strong, and capable. I want to take them on runs and show them what fitness can do for them.”

The Community

Balancing the different parts of yourself is tough. You feel the pull to go out with your friends on Friday night, but you also committed to interval training at 6 am Saturday with your run club.

Katie has her party group, her artsy friends, and then there are the folks she has met on the triathlon circuit. And each group has its own expectations of her.

But for Katie, it comes down to personal accountability. “You have to make a choice regarding your goals and priorities,” says Katie. “And that’s not always easy.”

Perhaps to stave off the potential pressure from her peers, Katie initially did all her training alone. But her perspective shifted as she continued to develop as a triathlete — “My most enjoyable races are the ones I complete with my training partners. Honestly, it’s not about the race. It’s about the consistency of meeting up with people every day.”

The Training

You’ll unlikely find a training plan that fits your needs and goals perfectly. A good training regime should be approachable but tough enough to keep you hungry. For example, a sample week for Katie consists of a swim workout, a brick workout, a strength or HIIT component, and then a long run and bike ride on the weekend.

If an Ironman is your goal, Katie recommends investing in a coach. But if that’s not an option, she suggests piecing a few plans together and creating one specific to you.

When Katie started, she looked for the most challenging training plan. Her logic was that race day would be a walk in the park if she put herself through the wringer during training.

There are a few critical aspects that Katie emphasizes, though. For instance, she’ll make it a point to incorporate strength training into her triathlon preparation. A good strength regime will help ward off potential injuries that may arise from putting that many miles on your body.

“I use the 80/20 rule. I don’t want to deprive myself of what I enjoy. You need to let yourself eat those burgers and pizzas.”

Another aspect worth noting is consistency. But don’t kick yourself if you miss a day or have an off workout. “Just do the best you can on that day,” suggests Katie. “Let’s say your plan says to ride for three hours and then do hills, but you only ride for two hours and can’t do the hills. That’s okay.”

The Food

Your goal might be to complete a Half Ironman, but what’s the focus? For Katie, the focus is on being physically and mentally fit 50 years down the road. “I want to be able to walk, run, and cycle when I’m 80,” laughs Katie.

Ensuring you’re not running your body into the ground means properly fueling it before, during, and after a race. The biggest takeaway for Katie was that she needed to eat more.

“You need those carbs and the protein, especially after a workout,” says Katie. “I try to eat a big caloric meal after a workout. It’s usually a bowl of oatmeal with Greek yogurt, some berries, and a cup of coffee.”

During the event, Katie recommends consuming everything you chew on the bike, such as organic fruit bars and Heavenly Hunks. That way, you can down your gels and electrolytes during the run.

But at the end of the day, If you’re not enjoying yourself, it’s time to consider pursuing something else. “I use the 80/20 rule,” says Katie. “I don’t want to deprive myself of what I enjoy. You need to let yourself eat those burgers and pizzas.”

The Gear

You may feel self-conscious as you pull into the parking lot for your first triathlon. You will see people obviously much fitter than you tuning up their much better bikes. And you’ll think to yourself, “Damn! That guy has one of those helmets that looks like the crystal skull in the fourth Indiana Jones movie. He must be fast.”

Then, you’ll walk into the corral. And the same guy from earlier will wheel his electric purple tri-bike next to yours. He’ll gently move your bike out of the way as he politely goes, “First tri, huh?” Ignore him. And his perfect mustache.

“Focus less on gear,” emphasizes Katie. “I love good gear, but I’m frugal. Get yourself a few staple pieces, and you’ll be set. I wear the Brooks Ghost for shoes and like Betty Designs for apparel. They have kickass tri-gear for women.”

The Advice

It’s not the best strategy, nor is it safe to push yourself to the extremes during every training session. You’re missing the point if you’re wheezing in the corner after every swim, bike, and run. But something is to be said for pushing harder in training than on race day.

For Katie, that means seeking out those who are faster, stronger, and better than her. “If you get your ass kicked in training, race day will be easier and much more enjoyable,” says Katie. “I almost broke down several times during my training.

The intensity of the people I was competing against was a lot, but my trainer partner would always remind me that, ‘it’s a nice day to have a nice long workout.’”

Originally published at https://workingorder.substack.com.

--

--