Healing From Injury — How To Build Mental And Physical Strength

Matt Zidell
Runner's Life
Published in
3 min readAug 28, 2022
Photo by Author

Recently I completed a 36-mile trail run through the Sierra Nevadas that took me along parts of the John Muir Trail. This was my first activity farther than 42km and my time on feet far exceeded my prior record set when I completed the Mont Blanc Marathon.

Not surprisingly, my legs responded to this with an abundance of aches and pains. The week following, I focused on cross-training and limited miles running. However, despite my efforts, I succumbed to an overuse injury, specifically Iliotibial Band Syndrome (ITBS).

I decided to take an entire week off running, a terrifying notion for many, but in fact, I was quite comfortable with this.

For the avid runner, a sports-related injury is almost inevitable. When faced with these perceived setbacks, a strong, healthy mindset is crucial.

Here are several ways you can conceptualize time away from running, including practices to strengthen your mind and body.

Acknowledge how far your body has taken you and how far you pushed to get there

Overuse injury sucks. But you’ll never become injured sitting on your couch all day. Be proud of the efforts you’ve taken to improve and stay active. Be kind to yourself. Injuries plague all runners, novice and professional alike.

Take time to explore other forms of activity, such as jump rope, cycling, swimming, and rowing

My time away from running freed me to enjoy other activities I cast aside. I dusted off my beloved clucky commuter bike to take on workouts. I took advantage of summer and swam (while I tried to ignore the ruckus set off by my clumsy form). I also practiced jump roping, a fantastic low-cost cardio activity that requires no more than a few feet to skip around.

Double down on your recovery routine

I took time to research and work on more habitual recovery practices. The days of sporadically taking on threshold workouts and going about my afternoon as if they never happened are long gone. I relented and purchased a foam roller that I will use several times a week, particularly after grueling workouts. I spend time stretching and using my massage gun often. I also plan for recovery runs or cross-training the day after speed sessions. As important as the act of running is, nearly if not equally important is regular maintenance and recovery. My recent injury was a glaring reminder of this.

Accept that the countless hours and miles of running more than make up for a week of rest, if not more

Rather than feel guilty about taking time off from running, conceptualize this time as well-earned. Wherever you are on your journey, just appreciate the progress made and let yourself take time off. Your rest is deserved and needed.

With a tranquil, focused mind you will return to running energized and full of passion

As your recovery nears completion, think about your goals, your training, and your new recovery routines. Then reinvigorate your passion for running. Even if you’re not running, your time is not spent idly if you mentally prepare for the workouts to come. Then once healed and eager, you will lace up and hit the pavement (or trails) again. Take your refocused passion to embark on new adventures.

Photo by Emma Simpson on Unsplash

My recovery is still ongoing, as is the maintenance of my entire leg system. Pitfalls will always emerge, but we must navigate them with thoughtfulness, kindness, determination, and grit.

Remember that any setback can become compelling drama in the success story you have yet to write.

--

--