How Far Can Super Slow Running Take My Body?

Using the Maffetone Method to test your limits

Tim Ebl
Runner's Life
Published in
4 min readJun 18, 2020

--

Image by wal_172619 from Pixabay

When I started running earlier this year, I was building my new skill from scratch. I have never been a runner, but I am a doer. I’m a goal-oriented person, and I started training aggressively to complete a 5K race.

I was acting like a 20-year-old. I was pushing hard and going for broke. I was running, doing yoga every day, and even participating in a HIIT class by virtual meeting three times a week.

I was SORE!

Not only that, but I wasn’t eating healthy enough. Especially during lock-down, my food habits were totally out of whack. I was active and exercising, yet gaining weight.

It started to take its toll on me. I was losing ground. Instead of getting healthier and running farther, I was having trouble even getting out the door.

Did it have anything to do with my age? I was worried that it probably did. I just wasn’t recovering fast enough from all of the hard use my body was seeing. It was time to change gears.

I decided to take it easy on my body and build up my running habit slowly. I didn’t want to end up injured and lose the chance to run this summer.

No More HIIT

--

--

Tim Ebl
Runner's Life

I help busy guys lose the dadbod, get their energy back and feel 20 yrs younger!. tim@simpleprimalfitness.com