How Fast Should Your Easy Runs Be?

Four non-techy ways I make sure my easy run pace is in the right range

Dan Moriarity
Runner's Life
Published in
4 min readMay 21, 2024

--

Of all the questions I get from runners, “How fast should my easy runs be?” is perhaps the most common. It’s understandable given that easy runs are runners’ most common type of workout.

The last several years have seen an explosion of tech devices and advice to help runners select the appropriate training paces.

Measuring heart rate, power output or even lactate levels can certainly be helpful if you’re into that sort of thing. Personally, I like to back up the information from my heart rate monitor with four decidedly non-techy indicators, which I think are just as accurate in terms of choosing the right pace for my easy runs.

For one thing, relying too much on tech has its drawbacks. It can turn some runners into data geeks and lead to an obsession with numbers. There’s nothing wrong with digging into the data, but I’ve known many runners (myself included) for whom obsessing about data adds stress and confusion to their training rather than providing clarity and insight.

There’s also the question of whether the data I’m getting is accurate. I’ve had times where I’m cruising along on an easy run, glance at my watch and it says my heart rate is 180bpm or more (130…

--

--