How Getting on My Bike Made Me a Better Runner

Lisa Lindey
Runner's Life
Published in
4 min readOct 5, 2020
Photo by Flo Karr on Unsplash

For the past few years my bike has been stuck in a corner in my apartment collecting dust. I’d ride it here and there but in all honesty, it was just taking up room. (I’ll be honest, it did make a very handy clothes rack.) I was a runner and I always thought I was “saving my legs” by taking the train, bus or calling an Uber.

After Covid hit NYC I realized the last way I wanted to get around town was on a bus or train. I dusted off my track bike and started using it for my everyday transportation.

After a few months of consistent riding I noticed my running had improved. Like, really improved. And it’s not like I’m commuting 15 miles to work or anything. I am riding about 30 miles a week.

My legs felt fresher then when I was just running. When I first started riding it sounded like torture to do a hard run then hop on the bike and go to work. But the low intensity ride was exactly what I needed. The ride allowed my legs to recover quicker by increasing blood flow to my quads, glutes, hamstrings and calfs. The low intensity pedaling was flushing out lactic acid in my legs which reduced the muscle soreness I would have usually felt the day after a hard run.

My easy days felt easier. The low impact and low intensity of my rides helped me improve my aerobic base. According to my Garmin I was in Zone 2 during my rides.

Benefits of Training In Zone 2

Your body becomes a FAT BURNING MACHINE! When you train in Zone 2, you metabolize fat as fuel, both during the workout and throughout the day.

Your heart gets a workout, becoming stronger and larger, therefore allowing it to pump more blood with each beat through your body.

On a cellular level, your mitochondria increase and become powerhouses.

You’re not out of breath and can more easily focus on proper form.

A Zone 2 session can almost be like meditation, soothing your mind and body.

source

You know the whole 80/20 rule? Well when I started riding my bike I was finally starting to do more easy efforts and seeing the benefits of them. I don’t weigh myself that often but I have felt a little leaner since cycling more.

I’m also feeling a lot stronger on my runs. I hit the trails this morning and the hills that used to fatigue me felt noticeably easier. I definitely have more power in my legs now. Although you obviously use your legs for both sports, when running you tend to use your hamstrings, hip flexors and calves more. When you are cycling you use your quads and glutes more. Training these complementary muscle groups help you get stronger and improve muscle imbalances. Weirdly, I feel like my shins have gotten stronger too.

If you find yourself exclusively running, you are strengthening certain muscles within a specific range of motion, while others are left underdeveloped. It’s easy to hit a plateau with your training, as doing the same thing every day will eventually stop yielding results. This is why cross training within any sport is so important. When you start cycling, you’ll be using those same muscles, but in a different and new way. You’ll find your legs and core will thank you, and yes, will make you a faster and more efficient runner. SOURCE

Riding my bike is an exercise in mindfulness, especially during rush hour. When I ride my bike I don’t listen to music and am fully aware of everything going on with me. It’s like I’m in the zone and it’s incredibly calming. Well, most of the time. There are those times where someone cuts in front of me or throws their car door open without looking. But nonetheless, I show up at my destination a lot calmer, and it lets me unwind after a long day. I used to always listen to music when I ran and I’m tending to want to run in silence, something I never would have imagined doing a few months ago.

While running is still my true love I do have a newfound appreciation for cycling, especially all the benefits it has. Cross training is something every runner should be doing and all too often we start doing it AFTER we are already injured. So don’t wait for an injury to get you on a bike, get on one now and become a stronger runner!

--

--

Lisa Lindey
Runner's Life

Plant based ultrarunner living in brooklyn. Vegan Nutrition Coach for endurance athletes. Health coach/PN1. I run a lot and eat even more. www.lisalindey.com