What Is a Good 5k Time for Beginners?

An analysis of the run times and how it helps.

Parameshwar Hegde
Runner's Life

--

I (with orange shoes) took part in weekly 5K runs in London

How much time does an average runner need to run a 5K?

45 mins? 1 hour? Or more?

Before I ran my first 5K run, I didn’t know. As a beginner, I always thought it would take a long time.

Over the past five years, I have developed some sense of the time required for running a 5K, how much time average runners take, and how knowing this helps.

This might vary slightly depending on your age, gender, personal health condition, and different factors, but this perspective may help you come to a sense in your case.

When I ran my first 5K, I took 32 mins 20 secs. I was a beginner. Most of the beginners take about 30–35 mins or more. I started taking part in weekly 5K runs in London and analyzed the results after each run. Here’s what I found.

The best I saw (2 to 3 people) would run 5K in about 17 mins. The next best, about 8–10 people, would run in about 18 to 20 mins. Most of the next best, about 40–50 people finishing in 20 to 25 mins, Most of the others run a 5K between 25 to 35 mins, and a few would take over 35 mins and even go up to 50 mins.

Refer to the below chart:

5K run time range and %age of…

--

--

Parameshwar Hegde
Runner's Life

Senior Leader in Corporate IT in his early 40’s. Curious Observer at work and life. Sharing learning and experiences through interesting stories.