How Voicing Your Expectations Can Harm an Athlete’s Performance

It puts them under immense pressure

Denis Gorbunov
Runner's Life

--

Image by Annushka Ahuja on pexels

“Mentally, I was exhausted.”

You don’t expect one of the toughest athletes ever to say this. Yet these were Michael Jordan’s words after he retired in 1999.

The biggest challenge in pro sports isn’t physical, it’s mental.

Anxiety is a side effect of innocent questions

My grandmother never saw a basketball but knew who Michael Jordan was.

The insane fame comes at a cost. Your family, friends, fans, and opponents watch your every move. Positive or negative, their expectations leave no room for failure.

I can’t compare my athleticism with Michael’s, but I just learned how that feels.

I run three times a week. Every year, there’s a 5 km race in my town that I participate in. My goal is to improve my previous time. I don’t compete against anyone but myself.

Last year, I was the fastest among the ninety-two people from my company. To put things in perspective, there were 12,784 men in the competition. I was #190. I didn’t win the race. I was just the fastest among my colleagues.

--

--

Denis Gorbunov
Runner's Life

Let your money work for you • Discover the tips on building wealth like the rich in my newsletter ‘Stay Invested’: https://denisgorbunov.substack.com