I Started Running Trails To Find Myself; Instead, I Got Lost

Paul Yee
Runner's Life
Published in
9 min readJul 21, 2023

--

My LinkedIn post had multiple meanings

“I’m off to explore new trails!” My recent LinkedIn post announcing my retirement may have been chirpy but it was also genuine and apt. Not only am I looking far and wide as I define my post-corporate life, but I also hope to expand my running repertoire after 10 years in the sport.

Trail running has always been part of my regimen, though only peripherally. With the convenience of nearby roads and the volume demands of marathon training, I’ve logged the vast majority of my mileage on pavement. Even with bucolic trails just a short drive away, I typically chose the path of least resistance: the sidewalk outside.

My trail shoes are good for the soles

But with newfound time and no races on the horizon, I nudged myself out of my comfort zone and headed for the hills. Escaping to nature, I reasoned, offered a way to find myself. To prepare, I enrolled in a trail running course and reserved Sunday mornings for group trail runs. I also bought my first pair of trail shoes, their exotic spikes portending adventure ahead.

--

--

Paul Yee
Runner's Life

I’m a CFO and runner who’s a coach at heart