Photo by Sander Sammy on Unsplash

I Took a Tumble While Running! Here We Go Again?

A clumsy accident or has my knee given way again?

Stephen Hands
Published in
5 min readJul 12, 2024

--

I was pondering what my next running topic should be before heading out on my most recent run. The running gods conspired to deliver the answer, although not the one I necessarily wanted. The subject matter for the article arrived when I took a tumble. The running gods can have a cruel sense of humor sometimes.

I have said before that the most dangerous time when recovering from injury can be when you think you have put the problem behind you. I let my concentration wane, I stumbled on an uneven part of the trail and down I went.

On the plus side, this time it was on grass, whereas a couple of years ago it was on tarmac and ended with a trip to the hospital to get my head glued. It also ended with close to a year out of running as I tackled a knee that was prone to buckling.

This time around, nothing seemed damaged apart from my hard-earned confidence that my knee would not fail me again. However, that could prove an issue.

A running accident, or a running injury?

The immediate thought was that my left knee gave way again. However, once home and a little calmer, I wondered whether it was just one of those things. A running…

--

--

Stephen Hands
Runner's Life

A freelance writer based in beautiful Cornwall in the UK. A runner looking to share their thoughts and experiences from three decades of running.