I Trained Twice a Day To Prepare for a Marathon. How Did It Go?

And should I continue this madness?

Oliver Romsen
Runner's Life

--

Late last year, I decided to join the Holmenstrand Marathon in April 2024. Since I had more than three months to prepare, I started an 18-week program from the Nike Run Club feeling good. However, I also wanted to retain all the muscles I’ve worked hard to build. I still remember how hard it was to regain the strength I lost when I stopped doing resistance training for ten weeks.

Photo by Iwona Castiello d'Antonio on Unsplash

I understand the importance of preparing for a marathon, especially for a 42k virgin like me, to finish the race without getting hurt. I also heard that weight training can do wonders for everyone, including runners. At that time, I concluded that the only way to continue weight training while following the marathon training was to do both on the same day if I had to!

I’d never exercised twice a day, and I could hear people say, “OVERTRAINING!!” Or was I? At the end of this post, I’ll tell you what was the biggest lesson I learned after this exercise (pun intended).

October — what am I capable of?

I did the most Kobe Bryant thing I could: marathon training from 9:00 to 10:00 a.m., resting for two hours, and lifting weights from noon to 1:00 p.m. That two-hour rest was crucial…

--

--