Am I Allergic to Winter Running?

You really do learn something every day.

Cole Briggs
Runner's Life
3 min readFeb 6, 2021

--

Photo by Dmitry Ratushny on Unsplash

Well, I never thought I would be the person who runs during the winter, but here I am. I started running regularly at the start of the pandemic and have since kept it up. I’ve noticed several articles advocating running in the colder months because of all the added benefits it can provide you and your workout. I decided to give it a try.

Fortunately for me, I’m in the warmest part of the country (Canada), 40 minutes east of Vancouver, B.C. Whenever I turn on the news, I’m shocked by the extreme winter conditions faced by other provinces. If it wasn’t for the mild winter we’re having here in B.C., I’m sure I wouldn't be running nearly as much.

But I did have an abnormal experience a couple of weeks back after a run. It was a clear and sunny January day. I was especially excited to get out for my run since the usual weather had been dark and rainy. Seeing the sun shining really lifted my spirits.

I was so awestruck by this beautiful day that the one thing I didn’t account for was the air. Usually moist and humid, the air was very thin, dry, and much, much colder, making the first ten minutes of the run very tough on my respiratory tract. Still, I dealt with the conditions and had a good run.

It wasn’t until shortly afterward that I started getting a runny nose. No big deal, I thought. It’s just the cold air.

But then my nose started feeling tingly, like when you get allergies in the spring from pollen floating everywhere. Except, it’s winter. How do you get allergies in the winter? Besides indoor allergens, such as dust mites or pet dander that accumulate more than normal in households during the colder months, it just didn’t add up. Then, sure enough, I started sneezing. A lot. And it lasted a good couple of hours.

Of course, Covid crossed my mind, as I’m sure it does with anyone who gets any sort of symptoms right now. But I didn’t have any Covid symptoms, nor did I feel at all sick. After a quick Google search later that day, I discovered that you actually can be allergic to the cold.

Immediately I panicked, as my life would’ve drastically changed. A Canadian allergic to the cold? Time to move to Mexico.

Let this be a lesson to never just read the headlines. Being allergic to cold temperatures is a condition called cold urticaria. Those suffering from it can experience skin that turns reddish, followed by, in some cases, welts, which can be quite itchy. It turns out cold urticaria is more of a skin reaction than a respiratory reaction. This fact alone confirmed I was in the clear.

Still, I definitely did have an allergic reaction because of this sudden change in air quality. I’ve lived here my whole life and have never experienced an allergic reaction to the cold. Has anyone else experienced this before? I know tons of people go through the usual runny-nose cold in response to sudden drops in temperature, but this wasn’t it. It only lasted the rest of the day; then it was gone. Like it never happened.

Perhaps I just need to adapt to the conditions more appropriately. I tried wearing my mask when I went on my next run, but after two minutes of suffocating, I had to take it off. I definitely need to invest in a mask made specifically for exercise.

Overall, I enjoy running in the cold. It’s different, and different is good. Life can sure get boring during a pandemic, so if there’s a chance to mix it up when you’re running, bring it on.

--

--

Cole Briggs
Runner's Life

Criminal Justice Undergraduate * Landscaper * Golfer * Fitness Nut