Photo by Nareeta Martin on Unsplash

Is Running Slower Just a Natural Part of Aging?

Rejecting disappointment and accepting the challenge aging brings to runners

Stephen Hands
Published in
6 min readMay 28, 2024

--

Dealing with disappointment is a recurring part of running. We don’t win every race. We don’t achieve our targets on every run.

Ideally, disappointment should be swiftly addressed, and all positives given the focus instead. Learn from mistakes and have a can-do attitude for correcting them next time round.

I have been surprised at how slow progress has been since returning to running after the better part of a year off. I can’t deny this has been disappointing, as much as I tell myself that I am at least back running regardless of the pace and distances covered.

Were my targets too ambitious? In hindsight, yes. Was I a little naïve in my thought process? Yes, probably. Was I too optimistic in my ability to turn base-level fitness into speedier running? Oh, yes, you better believe it!

However, I am a little older, if not always a little wiser. Am I just slower because I am older?

Overcoming performance plateaus

Last week’s birthday saw me leave the mid-point of my fifties and edge closer to the vet 60 category. This and other family events meant it was a good point…

--

--

Stephen Hands
Runner's Life

A freelance writer based in beautiful Cornwall in the UK. A runner looking to share their thoughts and experiences from three decades of running.