Lessons From A New Ultra Runner

Mindset is everything. Five thoughts that helped me complete Ultra #2

Diane Brander
Runner's Life

--

Photo by the author-Hutchison Bothy (checkpoint 2)

Ultra running is hard.

Most people will never run an ultra. If it were easy, everyone would be doing it, and it would be as accessible as a weekly parkrun.

I forgot that momentarily, as I stumbled through long tufty grass, rolled my ankle, and felt my once-broken toe protesting at the impact. By this point, I was around 20 miles into a 37-mile race. Oh man, I moaned in my head. I still have 17 miles to go.

That felt like an eternity.

It should be easier than this. But then I realized I was wrong. Of course, it shouldn’t be easy. Ultras are not supposed to be easy. Ultras are endurance events designed to test a person’s mettle. It’s about strength and determination, not a medal. The reward comes from perseverance. The reward comes from crossing the finish line and knowing that the exertion of running long, arduous miles has paid off. You’ve done it. You’ve completed what you set out to do.

I had made it that far. I would make it to the end. Determination is my middle name. Although I kept telling myself not to obsess over the miles, there’s something heartening about having less distance in front of you than you’ve already covered. I thought about…

--

--

Diane Brander
Runner's Life

Scottish writer and runner. Curious about ways to boost health and performance through exercise and creativity. On a spiritual quest, whatever that means.