Making Run Discipline Life Discipline

Applying the discipline to run to all areas of life has been revolutionary

Michael Horner
Runner's Life

--

Running discipline translates into life discipline and makes you a satisfied person. The author took this photo at Lone Star State Park in Suffolk, VA.

This is the fourteenth year running since I took up this activity at 46 to reverse my weight gain and find some peace in this chaotic world.

Little did I know I would go from being unable to run to the corner to finishing two 200+ mile runs and getting ready to run my first six-day event soon.

The disciplines gained from running have been life-altering. However, the day I decided to apply the same disciplines learned from running to every facet of my life was revolutionary.

The logical place to begin is to explain the disciplines learned and then show how those same disciplines translate to everyday life.

The Disciplines of Running

The most important discipline learned is you don’t have to have your shit together before beginning. Actually, the opposite is true. When you begin running, the less you know, the better.

This makes you inquisitive, and you want to learn from and absorb the knowledge of all the runners you can find.

I had the advantage of never being a runner before and despising running worse than anything else. This meant that as I got around runners…

--

--

Michael Horner
Runner's Life

Full-time business person, ultra-runner, writer, and podcaster. I exist in the world of YOU CAN! https://www.buymeacoffee.com/mikehornern