My Faux-lympic Experience

Living the dream at the Huntsman World Senior Games

Patricia Vicary
Runner's Life
Published in
14 min readJun 3, 2024

--

Good-luck charm clutched tightly in my little hand, I sat spellbound before our massive black and white console television. Wide World of Sports was on, and my heroine, Peggy Fleming, was skating in the 1968 Winter Olympics. I held my breath at every jump and spin as if I could somehow will her toward victory (not realizing the show was tape-delayed and that Peggy had won gold hours earlier).

That was the first of many Olympic events that would enthrall me over the years. I was amazed by gymnast Olga Korbut’s gravity-defying grace in Munich, transfixed by track stars Tommie Smith and John Carlos as they held gloved fists aloft during a podium protest in Mexico City. 1980’s Miracle on Ice brought with it a burst of patriotic pride; Tara Lipinski stealing Michelle Kwan’s gold (just my opinion!) in Nagano still stings decades later.

I’ve often said if I had one wish, it would be that I could have been an Olympic athlete. The sport in question wouldn’t be as important as just being there — although given the choice, as a kid I’d have chosen figure skating or gymnastics; now I’d opt for the marathon (which was not an option for women until I was well into my 20s). Sadly, on a scale of athletic ability from 1–10, I’m roughly a zero, so my wish had no possibility of…

--

--

Patricia Vicary
Runner's Life

MA, MLSt; 9x recipient of USATF Phidippides Award for Masters road racing. I write about walking, running, racing, and things that involve sitting on my couch.