Picture taken by author. Walking/running track on a warm summer day along the Arabianranta coast. Location on map.

My Favourite Running Routes in Helsinki, Finland

Six routes ranging 5kms, 10kms, 15kms(x2) and 21kms with maps

Kaushik Eshwar Sriraman
Runner's Life
Published in
8 min readJan 19, 2021

--

Helsinki is where I started taking running seriously. It is where I first experienced the joy of discovering neighbourhoods during my runs. Every time I took a little detour or ventured further than I had planned — new areas revealed themselves like it would in a video game. I got to experience those ‘Aha!’ moments where a single street bridged two parts of the city that remained disconnected in my mind for years.

Distracted by this act of discovery, I began running longer distances until I ran my very first half-marathon in 2014. In some way, these runs I have listed below take you through that journey of exploring the lovely neighbourhoods of Helsinki.

Töölönlahti 5K

Link to the google map: http://bit.ly/3sx15ls

I remember seeing a Nike heat-map that showed some of the most popular running routes in Helsinki City. The ~2km loop of the shoe-shaped water body was listed as the top choice in the region based on Nike user data. And that’s no surprise considering the loop’s reasonable distance, the surrounding greenery, and views of the water body.

Having run along Töölönlahti (Töölö Bay) a few times, I can attest that running along this route is one of the best ways to soak in the city. I like adding an additional ~3kms to the course on the other side of the railway track, allowing me to run a comfortable 5km along the water.

What I like about it: Even though it’s in the middle of the city, the running route itself is shielded by enough greenery to buffer the traffic sounds nearby. It makes you feel like you are running through a secluded park area. During the warmer months, you can expect to see lindy-hoppers bouncing around behind the opera house, picnic mats spread out over the grass, people throwing frisbees, dogs running about happily, several slack-liners between trees, people paddleboarding or kayaking in the water, and of course many many runners.

This means that it can get quite packed with people. But crowded as it may be, I love running past these happenings. It fills me with joy and makes me feel like I’m part of the city. I also tend to bump into colleagues or friends when I’m at the park, making it a fun place for me to visit.

How to get there: I like beginning somewhere behind the Opera House close to the tram stop: H0243 Kaupinginpuutarha. Alternatively, you could take a casual stroll, perhaps to warm yourself up, from the railway station (Rautateasema) via Musiikkitalo, just past Finlandia-talo and to the Hakuna Matata SUP Rental spot as your start point.

Eira 5K

Link to the Google Map: http://bit.ly/2XOQILG

In my mind, this route is a patchwork made up of parts of other routes that I have run, walked, or even biked on. I think it comes together nicely as a scenic ~5km run through city roads, coastal tracks, and nice-looking parks. Since it’s open to the sea in the South, it can be a bit windy at times — something I welcome only during the summer months with the sun scorching above my head — so be warned.

What I like about it: There is something special about the start, the middle and the end of this route. The route begins behind the Ruohalahti Metro stop and goes along the Ruholahti Channel. With the flowers hanging off the trellises on small bridges and boats that motor through the waterway, it makes for a scenic start to the run.

As you run through the middle section, you’ll get to gawk at the beautiful buildings of Eira. And then, you’ll pass through two parks — Kaivopuisto and Tähtitorninvuorenpuisto (or the Observatory Hill Park) featuring a challenging but fun slope. At the top of this slope, you’ll get a spectacular view of the Helsingin Tuomiookirkko (Helsinki Cathedral) that lies straight ahead. Finally, the route ends at Senatintori in front of the cathedral, where you can, if you fancy it, run up the steep flight of stairs, Rocky-style, feeling pumped and great about yourself.

How to get there: I recommend starting at the Ruoholahti Metro station. You’ll find frequent busses, trams, and metro connections to this station. You can get into the run the second you step out of the Metro station.

Lauttasaari 10K

Link to the Google Map: http://bit.ly/3iiZScO

If there is one terrain on this list I am most familiar with, it would be this one. I have lived on this island for over 5 years. And in that time, I have walked, run and biked this route, both clockwise and anti-clockwise, more times than I can bother to keep track of. And irrespective of which direction you choose to run this route, you’ll find yourself running on short bursts of different kinds of terrain. You’ll experience paved roads, mud tracks, beach sand, as well as technical sections with boulders and tree roots jutting out from the ground.

What I like about it: Along with that change in terrain, you’ll experience a change in environment and scenery. There is always something nice to look at. Some parts of the route are so beautiful that I almost always stop to take it all in. And in those moments, I am reminded, by the sheer beauty, that running isn’t a race from point A to point B but a fun, enjoyable journey through different experiences. You’re free to walk, fartlek, sprint, or just sit a moment and savour a spot. For some variation in training, you could consider making the loop on a bike as well.

How to get there: I recommend starting this run at the first bus stop on the island across the bridge from Helsinki — H1019 Lauttasaaren Silta. You’ll see the small circular structure of Cafe Muutteri (it’s tough to miss). Alternatively, you could start on the other side of the island from the Koivusaari Metro stop. You’ll be on the route the moment you are out of the Metro station building.

Arabianranta 15K

Link to the Google Map: http://bit.ly/2LZ3ZPb

My first ever home in Helsinki was in Arabia, right by the water in one of the student homes of Kaj Frankinkatu. I started with short 3km runs along the Arabianranta coast, a 50m walk from the building I lived in. As my stamina improved, I began increasing the distance of my runs and ventured outside the Arabia area.

One particular day, I set off on a 10km run. I felt so good that I decided to keep going as far as my legs would take me. I kept going until the route looped along the bay, past Herttoniemi and then some familiar trails along Viikinranta, and back to where I had begun. This is how I discovered this route. Since then, I visit this route once a year to relive that discovery process and enjoy the scenery along the 15km course.

Why I like it: My favorite part of this run is the forest trail that begins close to the Herttoniemi Metro station and goes all the way to Viikinranta. I especially enjoy running up the small hill in this section. On top of this hill, you get a stunning panoramic view of the Arabianranta coastline on the other side. Helsinki rarely offers such an elevated vantage point, and it is worth visiting this spot for a short break — to grab a quick drink while you soak in the views.

How to get there: As with most routes in this list, you will find several start and endpoints on the route. My recommendation is to get to Arabianranta, to the Arabianranta tram stop near Kaj Frankinkatu. You’ll get a beautiful start and just as beautiful a finish to your run along that coast. Another convenient start point for the run would be the Herttoniemi Metro station.

Seurasaari 15K

Link to the Google Map: http://bit.ly/39IBxt1

Although I call it the Seurasaari 15k, the island of Seurasaari itself isn’t a part of the run. Instead, the route loops around Seurasaari with fantastic views all throughout. I discovered this route on my bike, and so it happens to be mostly paved pathways.

What I like about it: The distance gives you a lot to look at while you are on the route. And, if done clockwise, you get to run as close to the water as possible. The parts connecting Lauttasaari to Lehtisaari and beyond are absolutely gorgeous. They feature tiny bridges that connect the islands and picturesque neighbourhoods. And on the other side of the loop, past Meilahti, you get to pass through my all-time favourite cafe in Helsinki — Cafe Regatta.

How to get there: I recommend starting from Cafe Muuteri in Lauttasaari and running clockwise. That’s my go-to start and endpoint for this loop (mostly because I live close by). If that doesn’t work for you, you’ll find several bus-stops all along the route. Pick any one of them that is convenient for you.

Helsinki City Run 21K

Link to the Google Map: http://bit.ly/35MygYz

Last but not least, the half-marathon. The first time I ran this entire route was during the 2014 Helsinki City Run event. Being my first ever half-marathon, I was a bit nervous about my ability to cover the distance despite diligent training. I managed to run some parts of this route (~16kms) a week before the actual event as a test run. I remember this route fondly, even though the Helsinki City Run no longer follows the same course.

Why I like it: The route passes through one of the largest parks in Helsinki. Keskuspuisto (or Central Park) is often described as the park that runs the length of Helsinki city. The route plunges into Central Park and its forest-like trails just behind the Olympic stadium. During the half marathon, I also enjoyed discovering parts of the city I had never run through before. Running along the water in Pikku Huopalahdenpuisto was particularly enjoyable. And more than anything else, you feel like a champion entering an Olympic stadium after putting yourself through a 21km run. If you aren’t running the actual event, you might have to end your run somewhere outside the Olympic stadium.

How to get there: The run starts a few hundred meters behind the Olympic stadium, right beside Eläintarhan Urheilukenttä. Although you might find it more convenient to start your run at a spot on Mannerheimentie (ex. near the Ylipiston Apteekki). And if you happen to feel out of steam at any point during the run, you’ll find several exit points all along the route.

I hope you enjoyed this list. And if you happen to run any one of them, it would be great to hear what you think of it.

For more information on popular jogging routes in Helsinki you can always visit the city’s webpage: https://www.myhelsinki.fi/en/see-and-do/activities/helsinki%E2%80%99s-most-popular-jogging-routes

--

--

Kaushik Eshwar Sriraman
Runner's Life

Designer, closet musician and aspiring long-distance runner.