My Running Journey During Pregnancy

Sharing the details of my pregnancy journey while exercising

Tanya
Runner's Life

--

Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

I was never one for morning workouts, the evenings after work were my time to change into comfy running clothes, grab my sunglasses and Flagstaff visor, and head out to my favorite greenway for an evening run. Running was my way of processing the day's events and enjoying the evening's beauty and sounds.

I always wanted to be a mother and nurture a new life, yet I constantly grappled with the timing of pregnancy and birth and how to fit it in with running goals, work goals, and other timeline factors. My husband and I had to agree that there is not a perfect time to raise a family and we truly anticipated having a rambunctious household full of littles wreaking joyful havoc someday.

When I saw the pregnancy test results, I initially felt shock, then quickly joy. That day remains a blur of thoughts racing through my mind as I mentally balanced work, exercise, the prospect of a baby, and our impending move. (We move fairly frequently due to my husband’s work as a pilot.)

My mind, both foggy and nervous about our new news, immediately jumped to my running endeavors. I had been dreaming of running an ultramarathon for some time. What are the medical recommendations for running and exercise during pregnancy? I…

--

--

Tanya
Runner's Life

Following mountain trails, looking for beauty everywhere. Lover of words and of life. Sharing tidbits that spark my imagination along life's trails.