Overcoming Performance Anxiety

Some tactics I use to conquer race-day stress

Thomas O'Grady
Runner's Life
Published in
6 min readMay 27, 2024

--

Photo by Miguel A Amutio on Unsplash

As a runner, the prospect of an upcoming race can be exhilarating. The thrill of pushing against my limits, the camaraderie of seeing fellow runners, and the sense of accomplishment that comes from crossing the finish line are all reasons I love the sport of running. However, along with the excitement, race day is often accompanied by an unwelcome companion: performance anxiety.

Understanding Performance Anxiety

Performance anxiety manifests as a knot in my stomach, a restless couple of nights leading up to race day, and thoughts of “What if?” What if I don’t meet my goal? What if I let myself down? What if I can’t keep up with the other runners?

These thoughts can be overwhelming. At their worst, they sometimes make me question why I even signed up for the race in the first place.

The first thing I’ve come to realize is that some level of anxiety before a race is completely normal. It’s a sign that I care about my performance and the goals I’ve set for myself. A certain level of anxiety helps me focus and provides the adrenaline boost needed to perform at my best. The key is to manage this anxiety and not let it hinder my performance.

--

--

Thomas O'Grady
Runner's Life

Thomas J. O’Grady, Ph.D., M.P.H. is a data minded professional who is an avid runner, hiker, and lover of the outdoors.