Pick a Race to Meet Your Goal

Selecting the right race can be key to your running success

Norman Marcotte
Runner's Life

--

Photo by Mārtiņš Zemlickis on Unsplash

Over my 30 years of running, I participated in over 200 races. I’ve raced distances from the mile to 50K ultramarathons. At the beginning of each year, I define my running goals. As I love to race, my goals are usually centered on getting ready for a particular event. There are many reasons why one would want to participate in a running race: fun, social, experience, achievement, recognition. Choosing a race can be critical to help you reach your running goals. Here are a few tips to select the best event to assist you in reaching your goals.

Racing for fun

Running a race can be so much fun, especially when the race director includes a special twist. Try one of the wacky races like the Bay to Breakers 12K in San Francisco, which is a huge fast moving costume party. Participate in a winter Santa Run as you attempt to keep your baggy pants from falling. Join your fellow runners in a red dress fun run. Get chased by hoards of living deads in a zombie run. A few years ago, my spouse and I participated in the Perth Kilt Run where we donned a kilt for this 8K/5-Mile event. I was resistant at first as I figured it would not be serious, but I enjoyed the atmosphere and the course, yet still found it competitive. The only downside was the…

--

--

Norman Marcotte
Runner's Life

Writer, runner, mentor, dreamer. Author of "Take 10 and Reach the Boston Marathon" and the children's book "Frankenstein's Science Project".