Returning to Running Postpartum

Discussing my healing journey post-birth and returning to the sport I love

Tanya
Runner's Life

--

Photo by Filip Mroz on Unsplash

I gave birth to my first daughter six months ago. During pregnancy, I was intentional with my exercise routine to lay a strong foundation for my return to exercise postpartum, specifically returning to running.

Many mothers feel pressured to return to their pre-pregnancy selves before they are ready. Six weeks is the generally accepted recovery duration from birth for a gradual return to exercise. However, some mothers may need more time for full healing, specifically pelvic floor recovery, strengthening, and conditioning post-birth, to return to running safely and optimally. Each woman needs the time and space for her healing journey and her return to exercise only when she is ready.

Awareness is growing for pelvic health and specifically the necessity of pelvic floor physical therapy during pregnancy and especially postpartum for a safe resumption of exercise. High-intensity exercise, such as running, can cause pelvic dysfunction, including urinary incontinence or urgency, and prolapse. Pelvic floor physical therapists are trained to address these issues and have training to work with women at every stage in their recovery journey.

--

--

Tanya
Runner's Life

Following mountain trails, looking for beauty everywhere. Lover of words and of life. Sharing tidbits that spark my imagination along life's trails.