Running a Marathon Is Start Hard, Finish Easy

It’s not easy, but nothing is easy in life.

Wei Li Tang
Runner's Life
4 min readAug 13, 2020

--

Photo by Jenny Hill on Unsplash

About 4 years ago, I heard that “running a marathon is the simplest exercise because you only need shoes then you can run. But it’s also the most difficult exercise.” I was doubting that until running around the local park on the spur of the moment. I realized why running is the simplest exercise. But I still didn’t know why running a marathon is difficult.

In order to satisfy my curiosity, I signed up for a half-marathon. It took me just a few minutes to sign up and pay the money. But I could never imagine that my life changed would change so drastically. I found a training schedule that fits me, STUCK TO IT, and told my friends I was working on this goal. The last and most important thing is enjoying the journey and the difficult effort. It may be hard at times, but try to enjoy the process itself.

All things are difficult before they are easy. The hardest part of running a marathon is registering. When I signed up for a race, it was a point of no return. I must follow a training plan and exercise regularly day by day. At the end as I am crossing the finish line, I realized how much I loved this whole experience. From the beginning to the ending, I was enjoying myself. At the same time, I fell in love with running.

Here are three ways to get started:

Begin with the End in Mind

Robin Sharma once said, ‘Everything is created twice, first in the mind and then in the real world.’

To begin with, the hardest thing we can do is signing up. When you signed up the for marathon, that means it is your goal. I highly recommend that you use the SMART method for setting goals.

The SMART method is:

Do what needs to be done

Now we have set a goal and clarified the training process. Next, do nice things to complete those goals step by step. People always feel a new routine is tough early in the process. But as long as you keep working at the training, you will be successful in the end.

Don’t stop

One more thing, there are no limitations or restrictions when it comes to running. Don’t care too much about others, but simply care about the finish line.

No matter hopeless you feel when it comes to training, when you overcome that, it builds your true character and you are proud of your accomplishment. Finally, that’s how the half-marathon teaches to you never give up.

The whole experience was not only to finish the half-marathon, but it also helped me realize the following two things:

Steel mind

You must continue to encourage yourself and always keep the key element in mind.

Tell yourself ‘keep going’ and repeat it over and over again when you want to give up.

Yes, these feelings are uncomfortable, and it’s not very nice, but push through it. Keep going. No matter how you deal with these feelings, by overcoming difficulties, you will find a different self.

Change your life

Throughout my 4 months of training, my entire life improved. My health improved, including my mental health and mood. I have a more positive attitude on life. I’m less stressed, feeling stronger, and can handle anything that comes my way.

Your life will only change for the better if you start on a journey to remain fit through any sport. All things are difficult before they are easy, so start small, make a realistic goal for yourself, do exercise day by day, and see your life change. You will love yourself for it.

--

--

Wei Li Tang
Runner's Life

Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.