Running Taught Me to Think About Major Life Projects in 5-Year Spans

Good things take time

Denis Gorbunov
Runner's Life

--

Image by Andrea Piacquadio on pexels

Ever wanted to feel like the only person in existence?

Get up at 5 am, lace up your sneakers, and run. There’s not a soul outside.

The effort of putting one foot in front of the other turns on your meditative state. You just activated your mind/body connection.

I’ve followed this ritual since 2018. The benefits are huge but not immediately obvious.

Here’s how running has transformed my life.

1. Put yourself through the grind

I’d do sports every day for a hundred years.

But I need balance. Because… Career.

I had to sacrifice basketball in my early 20s for a career in research. The first time I ran 3 km after those seven years, I was terribly out of breath.

That Saturday, I was dizzy when I walked back into my apartment. I sat down on the sofa and closed my eyes. Sweat was trickling down onto the cushions. A headache was coming.

To say my physical shape horrified me is an understatement.

To win back my self-respect, I upped my run to 5 km. It felt like second nature after a month. Your body…

--

--

Denis Gorbunov
Runner's Life

Let your money work for you • Discover the tips on building wealth like the rich in my newsletter ‘Stay Invested’: https://denisgorbunov.substack.com