Running – The Paradoxical Workout

Dylan Chia
Runner's Life
Published in
3 min readSep 26, 2020

--

Photo by RUN 4 FFWPU from Pexels

Running sounds simple enough doesn't it? The word itself is self-explanatory, and what you imagine when you think of the word is exactly what it is. However, while the word might sound easy, the exercises involving it might not be.

Why it’s simple (for beginners)

For me, my first experience running (with the intention of actually trying to be fit instead of simply accompanying someone or school physical requirements) was when I was about in my mid-teens. I wanted to start developing my physical fitness while I still had some free time, and I thought running was a good way to start.

Unfortunately, due to my lack of acclimatisation, I didn't manage to hit the target I set for myself, and could barely make it past the 2km mark. However, that did motivate me to try again, and after a couple more runs at a nearby park, I managed to discover the right pace and distance that would best suit my needs and stuck to that for future runs.

The reason I decided to start with running instead of other workouts (such as callisthenics or weights) is that it’s a simple exercise for what I wanted. My goal was just to maintain a healthy lifestyle, so there’s no better way to start than with the simplest exercise there is — running.

--

--

Dylan Chia
Runner's Life

A creative space for me to transform my thoughts into words