Running Your Own Race

From tribe mentality to true success

Luke Williams
Runner's Life

--

The Boy & The Man. First Photo Credit: Unknown. Second Photo Credit: Benjamin Williams.

Football is widely regarded as the “beautiful game” and it has given me some of my life’s greatest moments.

As somebody who moved to England as a young child, I will continue to acknowledge how being better than most children at kicking a bag of wind gave me belonging in a country I initially found hostile.

It is also impossible for me to ignore the incredible experiences I have had as both a coach and a fan in different countries around the world. But as I grow older, I understand how this same sport trained me to be desperate for the approval of others.

Scouted and sought after by professional clubs at six and seven years of age, I was broken by them at eight. That is the reality of this sport. But what you don’t understand as a child crying in your bedroom is that these experiences can inspire beliefs capable of surviving into your adult life.

Feeling like a let-down is hard for anybody to deal with, let alone a child.

In reality, I did not betray myself or anyone else by not practicing a sport as much as another primary schooler. Kids don’t let anyone down by not performing a skill as impressively as another child either.

--

--