Should Runners Give Up Drinking?

Alcohol can be part of an athletic lifestyle, but there are trade-offs for health and performance

Elizabeth Knight, PhD
Runner's Life

--

Image: Rashid Khereiss via Unsplash

Last winter, I decided I wanted to set a personal record (or PR, in runner-speak) in the 5k. I’m 40 and I’d been running mostly longer-distance trail races for the previous few years. To achieve this goal, I knew I’d need to work hard. And that was the point: I love what running does for my body and my mind, and a fresh challenge always gets me motivated.

I’m an everyday athlete, not an elite, but I was curious about what I could achieve if I really tried. As a health coach and experienced runner, I had a pretty good idea of the basics: Run a lot of easy miles. Do some speed work. Get good at pacing. Eat the right things and sleep enough.

When digging into those last two, though, I stumbled on an interesting question: Did I have to give up alcohol to run my best?

Alcohol permeates running culture

Sports and alcohol are deeply intertwined, as anyone who’s ever been to a baseball game or a Super Bowl party knows. Running culture, too, is steeped in alcohol, from pub runs to finish-line beer tents. I’ve even been offered a shot of Fireball whiskey at a mid-race aid station.

--

--

Elizabeth Knight, PhD
Runner's Life

Health coach. Nurse practitioner. Running nerd. Science champion. Strengths-based, gender inclusive, body positive, anti-oppression. www.flowerpower.health