Sometimes the Mountain Wins

How I evaluate which goals to work harder toward and which to give up

APSolimando
Runner's Life

--

Photo by Dave Lowe on Unsplash

One of the best aspects of running is there is always another goal to reach for. Complete a 5k race? Push for a PR (personal record) next time. Run ten miles for the first time? Try for 12 miles next week. There is always a faster speed or longer distance you can aim for.

I love setting running goals. Some are born from suggestion, like when a friend challenged me to run 30 miles in a month. Once I smashed that, I aspired to run 100 miles in a month, something I’ve done every month for 6 1/2 years now. Other goals I arrive at in surprise, like when I realized I was almost 100 days into a run streak and decided to keep going to 500. That feeling of accomplishment fuels me to keep aiming for more, seeing what else I can accomplish.

But what happens when you set a goal, train for it, and don’t achieve it? When do you keep pushing, and when do you move on to something else?

The United States Military Academy (West Point) in New York holds a special place in my heart. Due to family and friends attending, I was able to visit for several graduations, balls, and class reunions there. Walking the grounds gives you a feeling of accomplishment, as if anything can be achieved with enough hard work and determination.

--

--

APSolimando
Runner's Life

Mom. Combat Veteran Wife. Runner. Writer. Believe Diet Coke and M&Ms will cure all problems. https://www.instagram.com/amandasolimando/ www.amandasolimando.com