Structure

The secret weapon to help you achieve your goals

Nita Sweeney
Runner's Life
Published in
4 min readSep 21, 2018

--

Woman running along road through woods on sunny day.
Photo Credit: Pixabay

I’d been running for five and a half hours through the rural countryside surrounding Xenia, Ohio. My tired legs were intermittently cramping and the bottoms of my feet ached. I’d run out of catchy songs to sing to myself and all the mantras I’d been chanting sounded stale. The trees lining the rails to trails which had looked beautiful earlier that morning closed in. I thought I might suffocate. I was right on schedule, twenty-three miles into my third full marathon. “I really want this to be over,” I thought. “But I still have to get back to the car.”

My next thought made me laugh, “This is just like writing!”

Throwing in the towel would be a relief — for a while. In this marathon, I could easily stop at the next water station and ask the EMTs to haul me back to town. With writing, I could start fresh on a new, more interesting, more marketable writing project. That’s what I’d done with every other book I’ve begun.

At the time, I was still looking for the right publisher for my recently re-titled memoir, Depression Hates a Moving Target: How Running with My Dog Brought Me Back from the Brink, I had some great prospects and the book placed in two contests. Even if traditional publishing hadn’t panned out (it eventually did), I could self-publish. This process is…

--

--

Nita Sweeney
Runner's Life

Bestselling author of A Daily Dose of NOW, Depression Hates a Moving Target and other books. Runner, mindful reality coach, mental health warrior, dog mom.