Sunday Shoe Review: Brooks Caldera 6

The high-cushioned trail shoe gets a makeover

Jeff Barton
Runner's Life

--

Photo by author

Editor’s note: This is the first article in what will be a weekly shoe review.

Living in Arizona, I am blessed to get to run a lot of unique trails. With mountains all around me, there is no shortage of places I can go to get away from the noise, throw on my trail shoes, and enjoy the openness and scenery that I can only get from trail running.

After running strictly on the road for a while, I switched mostly to trail several years ago, and my first pair of trail shoes were Brooks. I had no idea what I was doing at the time — I picked up a pair that were on sale and too small, so going downhill was not a pleasant experience as my toes were constantly hitting the ends of the shoes. But those shoes got me through many hard runs and helped me fall in love with trail running. So I was excited when I saw pictures of the new Brooks Caldera 6. It was so different from previous versions and in a good way. And after putting it on and seeing it in person, that excitement remains.

If you are not a trail runner or familiar with trail shoes, there are a couple of key differences between road and trail shoes. One difference is the upper.

On road shoes, uppers are generally made of an engineered mesh or a knit material…

--

--

Jeff Barton
Runner's Life

Dad, trail/ultra runner, author, aspiring recluse. I write about life, mental health, and running. Starting life over. Creator of Runner’s Life.