Photo by Tim Foster on Unsplash

The Data-Driven Runner: A 12-Week Update

Early returns during the base-building phase of my attempt to qualify for the Chicago Marathon

Jake Boron
Published in
3 min readJan 12, 2024

--

In October, I set out on a grand running experiment, tracking how much time I can shave off my marathon time, and preparing for a qualifying time for the 2025 Chicago Marathon. Through 90 days, the data is starting to talk. Below is my first update in this series.

Mileage Increases

I began my major base-building focus in October, paying specific attention to the total number of miles, runs, and runs above the “easy” pace each week. I then tracked projected race time changes in the 5k, 10k, half-marathon, and full-marathon distances from the first day of training.

Over 12 weeks, I ran a total of 174 miles, with a 12% increase in overall mileage from October to November, and a 12 %decrease in overall mileage from November to December (more on this later). A total of 20 miles were run above my easy pace, which I counted as speed work for tracking purposes.

Running Throughout The Week

--

--

Jake Boron
Runner's Life

Analyst by day, writer and runner by night. Husband, father, and pop culture fiend all the time. Creator of the Zone 5 Substack:https://zone5.substack.com/