Photo by Florian Kurrasch on Unsplash

The Data-Driven Runner: My Base Phase Recap

A reflection of my base-building phase and a training block preview as I attempt a Chicago qualifier

Jake Boron
Published in
4 min readJan 31, 2024

--

It’s been four months since I set off on my grand running experiment to run a qualifying time for the 2025 Chicago Marathon. After 16 weeks, it’s time to transition from my base-building phase to my training phase in preparation for the Cleveland Marathon in May, where I will make my first attempt at a qualifier. It’s time to dive into some numbers, and evaluate the impact of base building, and what is to come in training.

Reflections On My Base-Building Phase

The last four months have primarily focused on easy running, in what most would call Zone 2 training. Speed was sprinkled into my weekly runs occasionally, but was not a main concern of mine. I also incorporated some long runs, gradually increasing mileage so that when training began, I wouldn’t be inappropriately increasing my training load. During this phase, I capped my long run at 8 miles.

So, how did all of this affect my projected race times? Let’s take a look at the numbers.

Projected race times across all distances decreased over the base building phase, with the 10k distance showing the most improvement at just…

--

--

Jake Boron
Runner's Life

Analyst by day, writer and runner by night. Husband, father, and pop culture fiend all the time. Creator of the Zone 5 Substack:https://zone5.substack.com/