The Grateful Runner

I feel so blessed to be a runner

Norman Marcotte
Runner's Life

--

Photo by Ann on Unsplash

I started running in 1987 after a friend encouraged me to watch a local race. Ever since, running has been part of my life, and I am so grateful for the countless benefits it has brought me. Psychology Today describes the benefits of exercising gratitude, such as physical and mental health. By perusing my daily journal, I can recount what I am grateful for.

  • That my body has held up so well over the years and has been able to adapt to the training. Although injury has slowed me down occasionally, my body has always recovered enough to allow me to run and race.
  • For race directors putting on some great events. I love to compete and over the years, I have participated in over 200 races. Without the dedication of race directors, the high number of volunteers, the course measurers, and all those who make an event possible, I would not be able to participate and test myself.
  • For a welcoming running community. Although it has not always been the case, the sport of running is now much more inclusive. Men and women compete in the same race, at the same distance, on the same course, and now there is parity in prize money and recognition. It is also multicultural, with all ethnicities participating.
  • For the wide variety of shoes and apparel that can fit any needs…

--

--

Norman Marcotte
Runner's Life

Writer, runner, mentor, dreamer. Author of "Take 10 and Reach the Boston Marathon" and the children's book "Frankenstein's Science Project".